Daily Archives: 3 June 2011

Te Salut, Don Cain!

It’s always fun to be able to inject Godfather references into a post.

Whenever Herman Cain crosses my mind, I usually think, “Oh yeah, the black guy. Godfather’s Pizza. Their pizza is way too salty. Mmm pizza sounds really good right now.” And that’s the extent of my thoughts on him.

After reading a post on Crooks & Liars, I decided to do a little digging.

He has a very impressive resume. B.A, Mathematics, Morehouse. M.S. Computer Science, Purdue. Worked for the US Navy. Became CEO of Godfather’s Pizza and returned them to profitability in 3 years. I was most impressed with that. I checked his campaign website. His “The Issues” page reads like a Conservative Handbook. A couple examples:

National Security – While diplomacy is a critical tool in solving the complex security issues we face, it must never compromise military might.

Regulation – Eliminating the burdens of cumbersome federal regulations would provide an immediate boost for our weakened economy. It would signal to businesses and investors that the federal government intends to get out of the business of over regulating.

It’s easy to see why the Tea Party is full-on in love with him.

And it’s easy to see why Liberals, like myself, aren’t.

This was a 2006 PAC radio ad where he tries to win the black vote for Republicans. “I know it was you, Herman. You broke my heart. You broke my heart!” Listen:

Yeah, that was real. Um, I don’t think you can win your fellow black voters over by using every stereotype in the book. But that’s just me.

And the Islamophobia. If he were POTUS, he would not appoint a Muslim to his cabinet. Yikes. He swears up and down his words were taken out of context, but here’s the original quote:

I have been upfront, which ruffles some feathers, but remember Bryan, being politically correct is not one of my strong points; I come at it straight from the heart and straight from the way I see it. And the comment that I made the become controversial, and that my staff keeps hoping will die, is that I wouldn’t have Muslims in my administration. And it’s real simple: the Constitution does not have room for Sharia Law. I want people who are going to believe and enforce the Constitution of the United States of America. And so I don’t have time, as President of the United States, to try and screen people based upon their religious beliefs – I really don’t care what your religious beliefs are, but I do know that most of the people of the Muslim faith, they believe in Sharia Law. And to introduce that element as part of an administration when we have all of these other issues, I think I have a right to say that I won’t.

The nail in the coffin for me was Afghanistan.

“The right approach is: the day I’m elected president, I will start on that plan such that the day I was sworn in, I will be able to implement the plan. Let’s go back to the fundamental question. We’ve got to work on the right problem. I think it is disingenuous to tell the American people what I would do when I don’t have the intelligence information. I don’t have all of the factors that are affecting this particular situation. I owe the American people a responsible decision and a responsible plan. And I don’t think any candidate can responsibly say what they would do if they are elected president.”

Good, vague answer. However, even with Obama in 08, I knew his stance. He would focus on Afghanistan and add more troops. He had some kind of plan. I’m sure a smart guy like Cain does too, but it shouldn’t be a surprise. God forbid it would be, “We’re never leaving Afghanistan!” That would be the wrong approach, an irresponsible decision/plan, and the worst Inauguration Day ever.

I don’t know if he’ll get the nod. Romney has a lot of money and the name recognition. However, in Republican polls, Cain is right behind him (tied with Sarah Palin). Who knows? Maybe the GOP will make him an offer he can’t refuse.