Daily Archives: 19 February 2011

Thank you, Jackie Speier

Congresswoman Jackie Speier shocked the House floor into silence. After a grotesque description of a 2nd trimester abortion, she reveals that she had an abortion at 17 weeks. Sadly, the fetus moved to where it couldn’t survive. She had to end her pregnancy.

“I lost a baby. But for you to stand on this floor and to suggest, as you have, that somehow this is a procedure that is either welcomed or done cavalierly or done without any thought is preposterous.”

We got to hear from a woman who had a 2nd trimester abortion. Surprise. She isn’t a monster. “Late term abortion” wasn’t something to cross off her To Do List that day.

She told the San Jose Mercury News why she shared her story. It was after listening to the graphic description of a dilation and evacuation procedure. “I was thinking to myself, ‘Not one of you has endured this procedure. How dare you? How dare you talk about it in those terms?’ That’s why I changed what I was going to say.”

I hope this makes people think before they judge women who have had abortions. I’m really glad she shared her story. The personal really is political.