Thank you, Jackie Speier

Congresswoman Jackie Speier shocked the House floor into silence. After a grotesque description of a 2nd trimester abortion, she reveals that she had an abortion at 17 weeks. Sadly, the fetus moved to where it couldn’t survive. She had to end her pregnancy.

“I lost a baby. But for you to stand on this floor and to suggest, as you have, that somehow this is a procedure that is either welcomed or done cavalierly or done without any thought is preposterous.”

We got to hear from a woman who had a 2nd trimester abortion. Surprise. She isn’t a monster. “Late term abortion” wasn’t something to cross off her To Do List that day.

She told the San Jose Mercury News why she shared her story. It was after listening to the graphic description of a dilation and evacuation procedure. “I was thinking to myself, ‘Not one of you has endured this procedure. How dare you? How dare you talk about it in those terms?’ That’s why I changed what I was going to say.”

I hope this makes people think before they judge women who have had abortions. I’m really glad she shared her story. The personal really is political.


14 responses to “Thank you, Jackie Speier

  • Kini

    I hope this makes people think before they judge women who have had abortions. I’m really glad she shared her story.

    Are you equally glad she killed a life?

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    Of for the love of God, Kini. Of course Spinny is NOT. It’s yours and others kind of tortured parallelism that drives people from religion, from faith, from understanding, from humanity. Do you really think you can sway people in even the tiniest of ways through demonizing their behavior and thoughts? In your mind, there are only killers and nonkillers. What a world I don’t want to belong to.

    Spinny: I enjoy your posts, I really do. But you’ve got some regular commenters who I find to be so disturbing that it brings up bile. I can’t return. Yes, I may be called a coward, narrow-minded, whatever. But I hear enough outrageous stuff in a day and at times, it’s so very very difficult to push it away so that it doesn’t interfere with the rest of my life. I see and hear enough hate in my day. My 2011 resolution was to eliminate as much of it as I can. I just can’t be witness to the hate that comes from Kini and Terrance anymore. All my best to you, dear girl.

    • SpinnyLiberal

      I’ll definitely miss you, Jean, but I understand. I love your posts so I’ll be checking out your blog and commenting. Hope that’s OK. 🙂

    • Kini

      Hate? Hatred? Accused, by you? I am saddened by your admittance.

      In today’s medical marvels, a life wasn’t worth saving, is equated to… hate.

      {sigh}

    • Terrance H.

      Hey, don’t lump me in with that person because we seem to support the same cause. Try reading my blog once in awhile if you want my opinion on abortion. Yes, I’m Pro-Life, but do I see and understand the Pro-Choice side? Yes!

      • Terrance H.

        Hate? LOL. Yes, opinions that differ from your own are obviously hate! I forgot.

        Another ideologue…

      • SpinnyLiberal

        She’s not coming back, Terrance. She probably won’t see this.

      • Terrance H.

        Well, whatever. But I think it’s absolutely ridiculous. Nobody here has been spewing “hate,” but rather, differing opinions. If she can’t handle that, then, well, why would you want her around?

        Failure to listen to other people’s point of view is nothing short of ideological idiocy.

      • SpinnyLiberal

        Well, you’re pretty quick to lock the door behind her. Haha

        Seriously, I want her around because she contributed to the discussions, she supports my blog, and she is a great writer herself. It’s not to be, so I just visit her site.

      • Terrance H.

        Not at all. This is your blog. You can have whomever you want around here. If she came to my blog, I wouldn’t push her out either. I don’t believe in censoring people, after all.

Leave a Reply

