The Democratic National Convention: Hitting the Ground Running

Man alive! The Democratic National Convention opened with a bang. Cory Booker and Julian Castro? Very passionate. They were on fire tonight.

Cory Booker, mayor of Newark, NJ, was a little “shouty” for my taste. I already knew good things about the guy, though. My partner, who left her heart in NY (by way of Hoboken, NJ), follows him on Twitter. The guy is absolutely dedicated to his city. Some random person will Tweet that the stoplight is out on a certain street in Newark. His response is always, “On it.” A politician who understands that they’re there to serve us? Yeah, I didn’t think they existed either.

I knew nothing about Julian Castro, mayor of San Antonio, TX, but all I can say is WOW. Very powerful speech. I can see why they call him a rising star. He really pegged Mitt Romney:

Mitt Romney, quite simply, doesn’t get it. A few months ago he visited a university in Ohio and gave the students there a little entrepreneurial advice. “Start a business,” he said. But how? “Borrow money if you have to from your parents,” he told them. Gee, why didn’t I think of that? Some people are lucky enough to borrow money from their parents, but that shouldn’t determine whether you can pursue your dreams. I don’t think Gov. Romney meant any harm. I think he’s a good guy. He just has no idea how good he’s had it.

Exactly. Not everyone has the luxury of asking their mega rich parents for the money to help them start a business. And they’re not the only ones who should have a shot at their dreams.

Of course, Michelle knocked it out of the park with her speech. I never really thought much about her speeches before, but tonight was amazing. My favorite:

And he believes that when you’ve worked hard, and done well, and walked through that doorway of opportunity…you do not slam it shut behind you…you reach back, and you give other folks the same chances that helped you succeed.

I loved that. We don’t get to where we are without help. And once successful, we should help others in achieving their success.

So did the opening night of the DNC fire up the base? I don’t know about “fire up,” but they have my attention again.


6 responses to “The Democratic National Convention: Hitting the Ground Running

Leave a comment