Life’s Curveballs

I’m starting to get caught up on your posts, blog friends. Sorry. I’ve been out of it…last Thursday I got into a fender bender. I was driving down a street on a residential area. A lady apparently didn’t see me from her stop sign, apparently. I saw her, though, from the corner of my eye. I didn’t have a stop sign, so I had the right-of-way. I applied my brakes, doing my best to avoid her, but I ended up hitting her anyway. If I didn’t see that she was coming, the accident could have been a lot worse. She would have t-boned me (driver’s side).

This is the last thing I needed. It wasn’t anywhere near as bad as the wreck I was in 4 years ago. I was rear-ended (at a stop light) by a lady driving 45 mph. I had to have radiofrequency ablation done to my cervical spine – all because the sun was “in her eyes.” 🙄 Sunglasses, people. Anyway, Thursday’s accident rattled me. I was finally “over” that big one, emotionally and financially. Physically, my neck and back will never be the same, but whatever. I moved on. Then, boom. Literally.

My poor car “Shelley” is messed up and will be going to the repair shop Monday morning. After the $2800 repair estimate, I hope they don’t find more problems. I love her. My other car (“Gold Experience”) in the accident 4 years ago was completely totaled 😦 And yes, I’m one of those weirdos who names their cars.

Seriously, what is up with me and cars? When one of my co-workers found out, he said, “Again??” I swear if I ever win the lottery, I will hire a driver. Maybe I should start playing. Heh.

Anyway, life sucks, but I take comfort in the fact that it could always be worse.

Which leads me to Spinny’s Life Tip (especially for the young ones). If you’re going through a rough time, NEVER EVER ask, “Can it get any worse?” The answer to that question is ALWAYS, “Yes, of course it can.” Don’t tempt the Universe to prove it to you.


2 responses to “Life’s Curveballs

  • lbwoodgate

    “all because the sun was ‘in her eyes.’ Sunglasses, people.”

    I saw a pretty bad car pile up in my rear view mirror as I hit a spot on the highway early in the morning where the sun would pierce your eyes. I barely saw the car in front of slow down in reaction to this blinding sun but watched those in back of me start to pile into each other as they hit their brakes too late. One small vehicle was actually knocked off the road and down a small ravine by a semi. Fortunately, no one was seriously injured.

    Years later they improved that hi-way by decreasing it’s sharp incline at that point and changed it from a two lane road to a 6 lane hi-way. It made all the difference in the world.

    Sorry about your car and glad no one was seriously injured in your fender bender.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Thanks Larry. Of course, the preliminary estimate was half of what it’s really going to cost. Oh well. I just hope they don’t total her out.
      Even seeing accidents can be very traumatizing. Sad that it took bad accidents to change things, but I am really glad they did.

Leave a Reply

