Alyssa Bustamante: Teen Killer Sentenced

Missouri Teen Gets Life with Possible Parole in Killing

When I first heard about this story, I was disgusted. After reading the excerpts from her journal, I got chills:

“I just f—— killed someone. I strangled them and slit their throat and stabbed them now they’re dead,” Bustamante wrote in her diary, which was read in court by a handwriting expert. “I don’t know how to feel atm. It was ahmazing. As soon as you get over the ‘ohmygawd I can’t do this’ feeling, it’s pretty enjoyable. I’m kinda nervous and shaky though right now. Kay, I gotta go to church now…lol.”

That is not just horrifying. It’s deeply disturbing.

Defense attorneys argued that she had a horrible childhood. Her parents were teens who were drug addicts. Her dad ended up in prison, and her mom abandoned her. Grandma became her legal guardian. It’s a tragic story. Thing is, a lot of people had similar childhoods or worse. And they didn’t kill anyone, let alone a child.

Mental health professionals testified that she “suffers from major depression and displays the features of a borderline personality disorder. Some also said she shows early signs of a bipolar disorder.”

Ugh. That just bugs me. So many people suffer from depression. And some, like myself, are bipolar. Yet 99% of us don’t pull friends aside at parties asking, “I wonder what it would be like to kill somebody.” And even more wouldn’t actually do it to find out what it would be like.

That’s the thing. Mental illness and horrific childhoods may explain behavior. It doesn’t excuse it.

As far as her sentence. She plead guilty to second degree murder to avoid a trial and a sentence of life without parole. So now, she has to serve 35 years and 5 months before she is eligible for parole. One of her attorneys said that the sentence is a “harsh punishment.” Actually, if I were the DA, I wouldn’t have offered the plea deal. For me, the more appropriate punishment would have been death. Life without parole would be semi-acceptable. 35 years and then eligible? Not enough. At least she is where she is. Away from society and unable to fill the other grave she dug next to the one where Elizabeth Olten was found.


14 responses to “Alyssa Bustamante: Teen Killer Sentenced

  • lobotero

    This is just creepy! there seems to be more and more teens doing stupid shit and then posting it somewhere…….also depression is getting more and more prevalent as a cause for horrendous stuff…..but is it?

  • lbwoodgate

    She is clearly disturbed and if somehow she dies while serving her sentence they should do an autopsy on her brain.

    • Sedate Me

      In the spirit of Mitt Romney, I got $10,000 $50 bucks that she doesn’t get out of prison alive and another $10,000 $50 that says that, even if she does, she’ll drop dead within 5-10 years of getting out.

      That much time in the joint prematurely ages folks. However, prison life is much tougher on child killers, especially when they are young & cute themselves, if you catch my drift.

      • lbwoodgate

        ” However, prison life is much tougher on child killers, especially when they are young & cute themselves, if you catch my drift.”

        We can only hope Sedate that such will be the case

  • Mary Flora

    Living in Missouri, I have followed this case. In my 32 years of teaching, I encountered one student I felt was capable of this behavior. He had no sense of right or wrong, no sense of remorse over his actions and appeared to enjoy hurting others. Since his family moved frequently, he was gone after several months and I do not know what became of him. I am not sure there is a fix for this disorder. I agree that a life sentence was appropriate – but I do not feel I would have allowed a possibility of parole.

    • Spinny Liberal

      How disturbing is that – you wonder if your student ended up OK or a serial killer. I don’t think there is a fix either because you can’t “grow” a conscience.
      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  • Sedate Me

    I go out of my way to avoid stories like this. Not because they’re disturbing, but because they’re usually told for the purpose of entertaining audiences. “Give ’em a good horror story full of lurid details & courtroom drama and our ratings will soar. Payroll tax holiday? Trade policy? Poverty? Millions dying or starving elsewhere in the world? Fuck all that boring shit nobody cares about!”

    Actually, I’m rather surprised this shit doesn’t happen more often than it does, especially in today’s callous culture full of callous people. Everywhere you turn, people are more self-centred and distant from others. Millions have been made homeless by greedy fraudsters who, are not just walking free, but want to (and probably will) gut the safety net and slash their own taxes. If having slightly cheaper iBoxes means moving plants to China and installing nets so workers can’t kill themselves, most people are perfectly cool with that.

    American TV is little more than a parade of corpses to be poked & prodded, imbeciles beating/shrieking at each other, and people eating dog shit for our amusement. The Internet is not much more than a way to self-promote and destroy others from a safe distance. More and more kids spend hours a day playing games like Call of Carnage 23. Shit, last year the US Supreme Court declared selling the most violent first-person killing simulations to toddlers was a 1st Amendment Right that outranks the right to display nudity or “foul” language.

    And then there’s the broad acceptance of the use of torture…provided it’s done by “the good guys”. That is a blank cheque to any person on the edge because everybody thinks of themselves as “the good guy”.

    Life is, or will soon be, as cheap as it’s ever been in America. It’s no wonder that a percentage of troubled teens with nothing better to do will get their kicks by disassembling weaker, more vulnerable, human beings. Like I said, the real mystery is that it doesn’t happen more often.

  • pbenjay

    Borderline personality disorder! Ya THINK!!! I totally agree with your post Spinny! This girl is a sicko for sure and one more time I ask myself “how does a child like this live in a house with an adult who doesn’t notice there is a disturbed person living there”. To this day, I STILL don’t understand how the parents of the two boys who slaughtered their high school classmates didn’t know their kids dressed in goth-like clothes and amassed such weaponry – YIKES!

  • Hansi

    Teen Murders are a difficult group to figure out. So young, prosecuted as adults, and given so much time. But I remember a fifteen year old boy who stabbed his mother 20 times in a fit of rage, from when I worked in our local Juvenile Hall. A truly disturbed young man.

Leave a Reply

