Pondering the Policy

I’ve been thinking about my Comment Policy. Two of my blog friends have decided not to continue reading unless a poster was banned or their offensive posts were removed. Should I ban certain people? Should I pull certain posts?

I’m standing by my policy, even though my blog friends have contributed great posts. I really hope they will visit from time to time, but I understand their need to do what’s best for them. If avoiding my blog is healthier for them, then more power, Godspeed, and God bless.

I’ve always argued against censorship. Since I started SpinnyLiberal a year ago, I’ve seen response “fights” and ad hom attacks. I just let them have at it. For the most part, people have been civil and have demonstrated their intelligence. I’ve read some amazing comments that have made me think about what I posted.

I want my blog’s comment section to remain an open forum. A place where Liberals, Conservatives, Anarchists – anyone feel welcome. SpinnyLiberal will continue to be a place where I “unspin” my head. It will also host the good, the bad, and the ugly. Like life.

I really do appreciate all of you reading my stuff, even if you just stumbled on here, said, “Oops a blog,” and hit the back button. πŸ™‚ Thanks for checking it out, and I hope you continue to read…and post.


33 responses to “Pondering the Policy

  • Kini

    Golly! I’m sure glad you’re not banning anyone! 😳

  • John Barron

    Well, were the comments offensive, or just offensive to them? That makes a big difference.

    I had all my comments hidden on the Daily Kos because my comments were considered “divisive”, but I merely expressed a pro-life comment, very unhostily I might add. But if you see the comments made by the liberals, and the diary posts — holy cow, I was considered divisive?

    I was outright told by commenters that I violated the rules and was being reported for rule violations which they explicitly said required liberal ideology.

    it was laughable. Some people are just too easily offended.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Hmmm. Offensive. I’ve seen 100x worse though.
      Some people are more sensitive than others, so I get their need to leave.
      FWIW, I’ve incurred the wrath of the Daily Kos community, and I’m Liberal. πŸ™‚

  • Ric

    The ones you have to watch out for are not the ones who say ‘Oops, a blog’ and push the ‘Back’ button. No, you have to watch out for the ones who say ‘Oops, a blog. Where’s the damn mop?’

  • aFrankAngle

    You gotta do what you feel is right … after all, it is your blog – so I know you will make the best decision for you. πŸ™‚

  • lobotero

    Spinny, I like your decision….on Info Ink argue whatever you would like but be respectful of each other is my only rule…I agree with the NO censorship….the only time I censored was purely by accident…it was when I was a newby and cleared comments before they were approved…..

    • beaglezmom

      I definitely affirm your decision. Way back when I rode my dinosaur to college – I once heard a professor say, “The real sign you are an educated person is your ability to listen to an opposing view peacefully, consider it, then reject or accept it with dignity.”

      Some folks write a little more forcefully than I might – but I find the allusions and quality of the writing to be interesting even if the view is not one I hold.

      Keep spinning!

  • Sedate Me

    (Apologies in advance for repeating a lot of what I left in another topic.)

    As a frequently banished comment poster, I am understandably not a big fan of Banishment.

    To your credit:

    1) Unlike some unnamed folks who don’t even have Comment Policies and would do something like -say- banish a person like me without warning for using the exact same words he used himself, you have a pretty clear Comment Policy in place. Even if you wanted to, you can’t just change it without warning to fit your agenda like it was a Loserbook Terms of Service policy. That would be Zuckerberg level douche-baggery.

    2) You’ve refused to compromise your standards, even though it may have cost you and your website something. Rarely do you see that anymore. Most prefer the utter blandness route.

    But as one who doesn’t suffer fools gladly (not that I have any one fool in mind)…it’s not unreasonable, or even censorship really, to insist upon some level of:

    1) relevancy to the topic at hand. If you’re going to run around being a fucktard, at least be an on-topic fucktard. I’ve got better things to do than waste time reading a tirade on the gold standard in a topic about books for children.

    2) literacy. If you cant string coherent sentences together on a regular basis, you need to shut the fuck up and go back to school before subjecting people to your word-slobber. Besides, it isn’t like the Internet is devoid of places where being an illiterate imbecile is, not just tolerated, but expected. Proper use of the English language tends to take the edge of a lot of offensive shit anyway.

    3) not overusing of embedded video, etc. It creates a cluttered space, slows a website down, reeks of neediness and technically isn’t the comment poster’s speech. Most video abusers use them as cheap filler anyway. Besides, anyone like me who is using a work computer can’t get away with watching videos all day.

    To me, those are more “quality control” issues than anything else. Even so, I would still recommend doing it on a comment-by-comment basis. Even the biggest fucktard can post something worthwhile once in a while. As for Banishment, even for people who believe in it should only be used as an absolute last resort for the worst and most chronic offenders. Trips to the Penalty Box are a more progressive punishment -eh?

    But all of the above are just suggestions, just in case you’re considering making changes. It is your playpen, after all.

  • Kini

    The there are the commenter’s that write rambling novels without coalescing to any conclusion. They love lace their comments with colorful metaphors; like that’s going to garner some semblance of acumen, but rather reflects a juvenile obtuseness. Which, in response could be summed up with a single emoticons πŸ™„
    .

    • Sedate Me

      A solid defence of illiteracy and reactionary “thinking”! If only all of us were reduced to grunts and fulfilling base urges.

  • Alcantara Acupuncture

    The beauty of your blog is that it’s your blog, no one else’s. You can do whatever you want with it. It doesn’t matter what other people think you should do with it. When I used to edit and publish a zine (independently published magazine) that challenged racism, sexism, and homophobia, I received a lot of mail that ranged from one extreme to the other, and everywhere in between. I published their voices, since it was relevant to the dialogue created. You will make the choice that best fits you!

  • Terrance H.

    Spinny,

    I don’t usually ban anyone from my blog, though I have in the past only because one person kept flooding my site with a bunch of phishing links. Then I banned a pro-choicer once only because she banned me from her blog, but then decided to come to mine and continue the debate. Tons of sense that made.

    There are people who comment on my blog that I will not allow to be insulted, so when they are, I issue warnings to the person leveling the insults. But mostly I don’t have any trouble. Then again, it’s always the same people commenting on my blog, too. Only once in a blue moon do I get an unknown.

    Like SedateMe, I’m usually the one being banned. πŸ™‚

  • Hansi

    Don’t ban, don’t censor. But do fire back when some shit-head leaves something offensive.

  • littlebangtheory

    Back when I wrote more about politics and society, I had a very few commenters who didn’t know how to “let it go,” and would argue interminably in the comment thread. In such cases I would state clearly that we were moving on, perhaps they should pontificate on their OWN blog, and remove further comments by that person IN THAT COMMENT THREAD. They were still welcome to comment elsewhere in the blog, but I don’t need to to dedicate that kind of time to someone else’ pet project.

    Now that I focus primarily on my photography, the bloviating douche-nozzles are just a distant memory! πŸ™‚

  • crushliberalism

    If you can tell me that I was someone who prompted a ban request, I will be giddier than Barney Frank at a Chippendales show! πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

