Sunday Evening Thoughts on Occupy Wall Street

I love this picture. The dogs are the cutest, and apparently, the movement is spreading far and wide. Maybe we’ll see Occupy the Arctic and Occupy the Sahara signs soon.

I’ve been thinking about the movement lately because protesters will probably be kicked out of the Frank Ogawa Plaza in Oakland. There are sanitation issues and rat problems. Also, violence and grafitti. This is what the notice said:

“We believe that after 10 days, the City can no longer uphold public health and safety,” the notice said. “In recent days, camp conditions and occupants’ behavior have significantly deteriorated, and it is no longer manageable to maintain a public health and safety plan.”

This is what pisses me off. People can protest without being gross. Clean up after yourselves. Don’t tag the walls. Kick out the troublemakers. When I read about Occupy sites being trashed, I think, “It’s not doing anything for the “dirty hippie” stereotype.”

That’s the thing. There are so many people from all different backgrounds. If the occupiers would keep the places clean and police themselves, there wouldn’t be many negative incidents that the media can exploit.

Check out the different faces of the 99% in this advertisement for Occupy Wall Street. I found this at Dusty’s site, Leftwing Nutjob. I hope this gets shown on TV.

I support this movement and love that we “little people” are finally speaking out.


19 responses to “Sunday Evening Thoughts on Occupy Wall Street

  • TerranceH

    Spinny,

    Any expansive movement is vulnerable to degenerates, and unfortunately they, while comparatively few in number, can imbrue the whole thing with the darkness of purposelessnes. The Occupy Saginaw movement has been peaceful (about 200 people). But there are some who are just there because they have to be somewhere. They know a lot about the movement (i.e., its purpose) and so when interviewed by the press, as some were, they tend to embarass us all. They can’t even philosophize their way through the interview. They just say dum shit.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Oh you’ll definitely have some bad apples. I just think it would be better if we got rid first of them so they won’t be exposed later.
      Ugh the embarrassing interviews. Like in Wisconsin. That guy who just said, “FOX Lies” over and over again to their reporter. I’m sure there were people who could have elaborated on that. It would probably end up on the cutting room floor, though. But man, he just looked and sounded like an idiot.

  • TerranceH

    * they don’t know a whole lot…

  • Kendrick Macdowell

    I don’t support the movement or what it stands for, or what it doesn’t stand for, or what it’s not sure it stands for… but I respect your post and the exhortation to recognize rudimentary courtesies. Maybe a “revolution” doesn’t need to worry itself so much about trash and such — but if the issue is American perceptions of the protesters, then it makes sense to encourage self-policing. I know in Wisconsin, during the labor union discord where there was abundant trashing, there was a small group dedicated to picking up the trash and trying sincerely to say, we have our views and we’re not contemptuous of anyone who might not share them. I respected that.

    • TerranceH

      So you don’t support taking democracy out of the hands of corporations and giving it back to the people, where it belongs?

      • TerranceH

        Because aside from a few kooks with a manifesto, that’s what the movement is about. Corporations and their lobbyists have become too powerful, too influential, and apathetic to the plight of the common man. Politicians have become their, for lack of a better word, whores…

        For someone who worked as a lobbyist (if I recall), the idea of Getting The Money Out may sound dreadful to you, but it’s for the best.

      • Kendrick Macdowell

        Oh forf*ksake Terrance, you really want to buttress your lame argument with the silly ad hominem of me having “worked as a lobbyist”?? I don’t think you want to go there, as I suspect you’ve done more actual “lobbying” than I have. (If you want more detail on my bio, and my relation to “lobbying,” freely ask.)

        On the merits, nine of the top 15 campaign contributors since 1988 have been labor unions. Where is your outrage? “Corporations and their lobbyists” are just as powerful, or not, as they’ve been for the past century, with manifestly mixed results.

        “Whores”?!? Why do you do this? “Whores,” applied to the entire political class, and then an ad hominem against me. Why do you humiliate your obvious intelligence with this kind of silly argument?

      • TerranceH

        Kendrick,

        Is the end of the universe nearing? Am I losing my mind? What is the explanation? Because the guy who has latched on to the debunked corporate neurosis bit has referred to my argument as lame.

        Are you serious? You can’t be. Because if you don’t see that corporate America is too powerful, or that politicians generally don’t make a move without first applying a cost/benefit analysis to see how any given piece of legislation will impact big business (while simultaneously ignoring small business), then I welcome you back to a reality-based community.

        And it’s no wonder Texas has one of the best law schools in the country – their students are clearly taught the art of obfuscation rather well…My argument has nothing to do with your experience as a lobbyist. The argument can stand without that information, but I felt it worth mentioning that someone who has worked in Washington in such a role may be against such changes almost instinctively. I simply remember you saying you had worked in such a role. I don’t think I’m wrong, but I could be. No ad hominem.

        And whatever lobbying I’ve done has been local, sporadic, and inconsequential.

        Labor unions are necessary to counteract big business. They fight for a measure of equality by ensuring safe working conditions, fair pay, and a host of other things that, when viewed outside of the inane posturing politics creates, are, by any standard, good things. And in order for them to continue serving workers in such a function, they need a little help from sympathetic politicians. Do you not see that?

        Anyway… I already told you on Spinny’s other thread that “Get The Money Out” means precisely that, no exceptions.

        If by ad hominem you are referring to my first reply, I must say that comment merely reflects my belief that you don’t understand the OCW movement. I apologize if you took exception.

  • lobotero

    I agree that they need to police themselves of trash, both human and other, ……do not give the media anything to focus on but the issue…..

  • lbwoodgate

    I suspect there is some nastiness and untidiness, but I wonder how much is real and how much is exaggerated by officials who want these people to go away?

    I visited the small OWS group here in Denton yesterday and their camp site was very neat.

  • afrankangle

    Great point about sensibility and policing themselves. Local officials are challenging Occupy Cincinnati. Then again, I expect that here. Love the Occupy Tundra sign. 🙂 good find.

  • beaglezmom

    I’m definitely for the Occupy Tundra hounds. I’m sure their camp is very clean and well patrolled!

    In this case, I see the various cities’ side to this. They are on public property (which means it belongs to everyone, not just protestors) and places not suited for long-term encampments. The reality is – if someone trips over a yogurt cup and bumps their nose — who are they going to sue? The city.

    We ask cities to maintain our safety, and it return give them authority to do so. In this case – I think its possible the city is not acting as a “agent of the 1%” but as a group tasked with our health and our safety.

    It’s time for transition – for the occupy movement to evolve into something more sustainable.and viable if its going to make the difference it wants.

    As far as the image debate — — It brings back memories of the age-old GLBT pride parade debate. There is always a contingent that feels the parades do more damage in the media than good for the community. (Press coverage always seems to focus on the big drag queen who forgot to shave, and the butchiest dykes on bikes woman they can find). The idea is – if we look like freaks and stereotypes “mom and pop America” won’t vote for our rights. As a younger, mouthier, lesbian dripping in rainbows, I remember standing up in some planning meeting and shouting – “I should be able to be myself. I don’t have to look how they want me to look in order to deserve equality and self respect.” And I remember an older, wiser woman saying “Of course you don’t. But, you should know – your way is harder.” Now older and wiser myself — I see she was right.

    I feel that way about OWS. They keep championing that they are post-modern, leaderless, diverse and the upper crust “just don’t get that” — It’s true – they don’t have to fit into the established view of what movements should do. But – the way they are choosing is harder.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Amen sister. I remember in one of your posts you talked about one of the ways to bring about change is from the top down. To do that, you’d have to “fit in.”
      And I can totally relate. I was definitely about Bi Pride, “dripping: in those rainbows. Now, I realize being “mainstream” can be way more powerful and disconcerting. 😀

  • Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

    The Corporate Media uses any and all stories it can to discredit the grassroots movement known by the moniker Occupy Wall St. As some folks apparently find more negative than positive to say about it, I find that very sad and telling.

    They are a voice, nothing more, nothing less..that verbalizes to the nation, and now the world, how fed up people are with the state of our politics, our economy and finally.. our financial system that obviously rewards epic failure by bailing them out and not requiring any changes in the criminal way they do business.

    And I think it’s a great piece of marketing by OWS, glad you spread the word Spinny, m’dear friend! 😉

Leave a Reply

