I Am Troy Davis

Jasiri X, the politically conscious rapper, produced this very powerful video regarding the Troy Davis case. He is scheduled to be executed this Wednesday for killing a Savannah Police Officer Mark MacPhail in 1989. There is way too much doubt in this case. Here are just a few:

1. 7 of the 9 witnesses have since recanted their testimonies.
2. Witnesses have come forward saying that Sylvester Coles, who was at the scene, told them that he was the shooter – not Davis.
3. There is no physical evidence linking him to the murder.

Even though I support the death penalty, I agree with Jason Ewart, one of Davis’ attorneys:

“We are hopeful that Georgia will take this opportunity, as many other states have done, to show that the integrity of capital punishment is best preserved by reserving it for cases where no doubt exists as to the guilt of the accused.”

All kinds of doubt exists here. He should not be executed. There are no do-overs. The Georgia Board of Pardons and Paroles will be hearing his case today, and I hope they grant clemency.

Vodpod videos no longer available.


13 responses to “I Am Troy Davis

  • lbwoodgate

    The jury system is far from perfect and so are so-called “eye-witnesses”. It may be the best we have but it is flawed and when mistakes are caught there ought to be due consideration given to them.

  • beaglezmom

    This is definitely a case where reasonable doubt should take precedence and consideration given. There some crimes so horrible that there is no question the perpetrator deserves to die — but in a system so full of racism, classism, corruption and manipulation – do we deserve the right to kill? In this case – I would say no.

    • Spinny Liberal

      In this case, there is way too much doubt. The racism, classism, corruption, etc. pretty much defines the prison system, but when there is a rock solid case against someone, that should seal his fate.

  • John Myste

    I am completely against capital punishment. This is yet another reason why. We often hear of cases that were air-tight during the trial, that completely fall apart after the conviction, and sometimes the executions happens, nonetheless. Why? Because the jury is not capable of knowing the right answer, and should always have reasonable doubt about their abilities. They simply are not trained in the professional assignment they are given.

    Oops and goodbye, Troy Davis.

  • Terrance H.

    I’ve been a juror a few times and the one thing I noticed is that people are stupid. Not all, but some. And some simply want to convict because they don’t like the looks of the guy, or “he is PROBABLY guilty.” When I heard that, I about fell over. “Probably guilty,” are you serious?

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    My name is on speed dial at courthouses. I always get called for jury duty. I served on a capital murder case in Texas many years ago. The man was guilty without a doubt and the murder was callous and cruel. Years later, I know I’d probably vote the same way. He was finally executed about 15 years after the conviction and when I heard of it, it did give me pause. It’s not an easy decision to make and clearly there are horrendous injustices in our system. I recently spent six months doing grand jury duty. I wouldn’t characterize any of the 14 of us as being stupid. We took the job seriously and felt that justice was served in all cases. Who will speak up for the abused children and spouses the way juries can? Yes, we bring emotion into the process, but the cases are emotional! Evidence is presented and that’s all we’ve got to go on. The important and critical aspect is for the police to do their job well – if they don’t, no one can make a decent decision. I hope this Georgia case is overturned.

    • Spinny Liberal

      I can’t even imagine being on a jury for a capital murder case. IMHO, if there was no doubt he was guilty, then he earned that punishment.

    • Terrance H.

      Ugh.

      I can’t imagine that either.

      The one I had earlier this year was a possession of stolen property and we found the guy innoncent.I argued and argued until we were all in agreement, because the only guilty argument was “oh, come on, he’s probably guilty.” To me, that isn’t good enough. That’s just stupid, even though the guy probably was. It’s all right to think that, but not to convict on that.

  • dcmartin

    Tomorrow the state of Georgia will proceed with the sanctioned murder of an innocent man., and an awful lot of people will cheer it as an example of the greatest justice system in the world.
    I will not be one of them.
    I will be hanging my head in shame for the officials who put re-election above justice, and citizens who put revenge above truth.
    Sad day for us all.

    • Spinny Liberal

      The cheering is just creepy and macabre.

      The Chatham County DA’s office has been flooded with calls. So much so that the lines were busy. When I did get through, I was on hold for 18 minutes.

      Tomorrow will be a very sad day.

Leave a Reply

