Timing is Everything, Mitt!

Mitt Romney Leads 2012 Field, but Many Republicans Pine for Someone Else

He’s usually pretty charming. At the New Hampshire debate, he made a great hockey championship reference – the Bruins being up over the Canucks. He flashed that dazzling smile and said he loves spicy wings. Mm hmm. Drowned in blue cheese dressing I’m sure.

So where did that guy go?

To awkward land, apparently. He meets with these unemployed Floridians in a Tampa coffee shop. They share their stories about how tough it’s been to find work.

He jokes that he’s unemployed too and that he’s networking because he has his eye on a certain job. Insert nervous laughter.

Of course, he’s taking a lot of heat for this. He’s “out of touch,” and “can’t relate.” Watch for this to resurface in future debates and campaign ads.

Message to Mitt: Dude, unemployment is hovering around 9%. You might not want to joke about it. Especially to people who just shared their struggles. You’re “unemployed” with $200M. They’re unemployed with tapped savings accounts and unemployment checks barely enough to meet their basic needs. Next time, maybe share a difficult problem you’ve dealt with. Better yet, listen and give a sympathetic look or a pat on the shoulder. Dismal economy, man. Not open mic night at The Improv.


22 responses to “Timing is Everything, Mitt!

  • Kini

    So how are things in the Bay area? I hear they want to ban goldfish.
    http://www.science20.com/cool-links/san_francisco_goes_after_goldfish-80077

    I don’t like Mittens either… ^_^

    • Spinny Liberal

      Things are groovy, Kini. Below average temps for this time of year, so I’m happy. It won’t last because we have hotter days ahead (next week).

      I know! I heard about that. They should ban feeder mice because I get the heebies from them. 🙂

  • lobotero

    Don’t worry…I do not think he will get the job of prez…….

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    Well said, Spinny. This man owns several multimillion dollar homes. I doubt he’s ever suffered or gone without a single day in his life. It would be far more helpful and tolerable if he’d address how he’s going to put these regular folks back to work – at jobs that pay far less than he’s made in his life. That would resonate, not the mocking humor, the quips. That’s just plain insulting. I stopped believing a long, long time ago, that my politicians were just like me – I want results, not some false empathy or pitiful attempts at humor.

  • afrankangle

    I think you was just trying not to be so stiff. Nonetheless, let’s see if he does it again. If so, then that’s a much bigger mistake than this incident.

  • Hansi

    By Republican standards Mitt, the Mormon, Romney is too liberal. Mitt, the Mormon, is too stiff. Mitt, the Mormon, is not radical enough for the Tea Party. And, did I mention the he is a Mormon, the Christian right will never vote for a Mormon.

    • beaglezmom

      Mitt Romney is a mormon? Get outta here. 🙂 Sadly, that’s the first and last thing most voters will hear. I think its funny how the “Christian right” complains about muslims wanting Sharia iaw and mormons in office pushing their religion off on others — while doing the same in every breath.

    • Spinny Liberal

      I think it’s that Mormon thing. But aren’t they like Christians too? I mean they believe in Jesus and stuff. Aside from the rituals and interesting undergarments, they still worship the same God.

      • Dhouda

        At my parents Church of the Republican Jesus, Mormons are a cult, hands down. That doesn’t mean they wouldn’t vote for Romney, but they’ll never be convinced that he’s a Christian like them.

      • Spinny Liberal

        😆 “Church of the Republican Jesus.” I like that. Wow cult is a pretty hardcore designation.

        Thanks for reading and commenting Dhouda!

  • beaglezmom

    Most of the time you really can’t joke about a community unless you’re part of that community. A comedian who is Hispanic can tell a joke about Hispanics that a comedian who is not could never get away with, etc. As Mitt is about 300 light years away from unemployed folks who are falling behind on credit payments, watching the interest eat them alive and seeing foreclosure coming…he should really stay away from that humor.

    “I’m like you” doesn’t work – when you aren’t like them.

    Perhaps he should stick with Buffalo Wings (or was that what started the Hockey riot?).

  • crushliberalism

    Spinny, I’m going to do the unthinkable here…and agree with you! *gasp!*

    I agree on the point that he shouldn’t be joking about being unemployed. I mean, if hit the lotto tomorrow, I guaran-friggin-TEE you that I will be unemployed, and loving every stinking second of it! 😀

    Besides, if we conservatives are going to pop Oba-Mao in the mush over joking about no shovel-ready jobs, then it’s probably a good idea to NOT joke about unemployment ourselves, n’est-ce pas? (I know French. But I’m still straight. And conservative. You can have my Man Card after you pry it from my cold, dead, Two-If-By-Tea-stained fingers! 😆 )

    To answer the question about “Mormon vs. Christian” differences: I could do a whole thesis on that, but I’ll spare you all the boredom. “You’re welcome” in advance. But if you Google it, you’ll see the differences between the two. If you are genuinely interested in the differences, I invite you to learn them. If you’re not a Christian, then I don’t know why you’d bother, since it doesn’t involve you one way or the other.

    Finally, the overall point of conservatives preferring someone else: Most definitely. Just as liberals weren’t thrilled when Jean-Francois Heinz-Kerry (who is rumored to have served in Vietnam…yeah, I know, “Who knew?”, right?) got the nomination in 2004, I don’t think the left or the media (pardon the redundancy) were all that thrilled about it. That said, they still voted for the guy. The same would happen if Romney wound up getting the nomination. Conservatives would vote for him, warts and all, because he absolutely beats the everloving blue HELL out of the man-child currently destroying the country (whether he’s on the fairway or not).

    Spinny, you’re like my taboo temptation. To quote that cowboy from Harry Reid’s poetry festival (or was it Jake Gyllenhaal? Aw, heck, it’s the same, really, if you think about it): “I wish I could quit you!” 😆

    • Spinny Liberal

      😯 Agree with me? Cue the apocalypse.

      As far as the Mormon vs. Christian thing. I don’t know what I am. I grew up on Jesus and still love Him. I don’t think Christianity has the lock on God, though. Many paths, one destination is what I believe. I know John 3:16, and my sister says that’s why my belief makes me DQd. 🙂

      Good to hear a Conservative view on why Romney might get the nod.

      😆 Hahaha, you’re mine too, crush. I think it’s the hypnotic/horrendous cartoon pic next to your ID that draws me in. I stay a while because you write some funny ass crap.

      They can’t take my Liberal Card without prying them from my Kool-Aid stained fingers. 😛 I will say I’m doing research. 😉

  • crushliberalism

    I grew up on Jesus and still love Him. I don’t think Christianity has the lock on God, though. Many paths, one destination is what I believe. I know John 3:16, and my sister says that’s why my belief makes me DQd.

    Your sister is correct. That’s a big hurdle that a lot of non-Christians have: “How can you be so BOLD as to say that?” Aside from John 3:16, there are scores of other references in the Bible that solidify this. Either God’s Word is reliable, or it’s not. We don’t get to pick and choose which parts of it to which we’ll adhere if we expect to make it to Heaven. The world tells you that there are many ways to God. Nope. Only many ways to Hell.

    If I may, I’d like to recommend two books, in no particular order. They both changed my views on Christianity, because they were based on actual evidence (historical, archaeological, psychological, etc.) and on logic and reason. They’re both by the same author, Lee Strobel. The Case For Christ and The Case For Faith. They’re both excellent, and I think you’ll find that they answer many, if not most, of your questions/objections. Truth be told, Spinny, many of your questions/objections are ones that I had before reading those books.

    Anywho, enjoy your weekend, avoid the feeder mice, and go get some patchouli. Or whatever the heck you hippie retreads do to pass the time. 😆

    • Spinny Liberal

      Those books definitely sound interesting. I’ll keep those in mind.

      Thank you. You too. I hope there are no flying cockroaches in your vicinity.

      😆 Not into patchouli. Although, this hippie retread will give up all aromatherapy oils if you fascists give up FOX News.

      Yup, didn’t think so. 😛

  • nonnie9999

    instead of the comedy act, maybe mittsie might have apologized for all the people who were fired when he was a corporate raider. he lined his own pockets at the expense of people just like the ones he was chuckling with the other day. too bad none of them confronted him about it.

  • Timing is Everything, Mitt! via Spinny Liberal and a Suggestion for the Romney Folks via Your Daily Cocca | christopher cocca

    […] Next week, I’ll make some anti-Romney posters, because I like to keep things on the up and up.  Your Daily Cocca fancies himself a fiery independent more likely to vote for a Ron Paul/Dennis Kucinich ticket than  Obama-Biden or Romney-Whoever. Remind me to also do a post next week about how Ross Perot screwed up the 90s by dropping out of the ’92 race.  We’d have a viable national third party by now if he hadn’t hedged.  More on that later. Without further ado, the post from our friend Spinny is below. Mitt Romney Leads 2012 Field, but Many Republicans Pine for Someone Else He’s usually pretty charming. At the New Hampshire debate, he made a great hockey championship reference – the Bruins being up over the Canucks. He flashed that dazzling smile and said he loves spicy wings. Mm hmm. Drowned in blue cheese dressing I’m sure. So where did that guy go? To awkward land, apparently. He meets with these unemployed Floridians in a Tampa coffee shop. … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

