Are Cell Phones Carcinogenic?

.
WHO Says Cell Phone Use “Possibly Carcinogenic”

Possibly. Will that change people’s usage? 5 billion cell phones are in use today. It’s going to take a lot more than “possibly” for people to run out and buy a Bluetooth®. And those are practically attached to your head. How healthy can that be? There are conflicting results when it comes to the Bluetooth®.

I loathe cell phones. I don’t have one, and I refuse to get one. Even if I have one, it would probably be off. I hardly answer my land line at home. No one needs to get a hold of me that badly. The way people use cell phones now, they can’t believe how we got along without them in the past. We survived. Miraculously. There were pay phones and emergency phones on the highways. People have asked, “What about an emergency?” Well, what about it? What if you get stuck on a road, and you can’t get a signal for your phone? You’d be in the same situation as I would be. Looking for a pay phone. I won’t be the one freaking out though. 🙂

I have accepted that cell phones are part of life today. I don’t think you should be that worried about cancer. You can always get that Bluetooth®, or do what my mom does – put everyone on speaker phone. The latter might kill you because the one you’re talking to might get homicidal. Whenever my mom calls me from her cell phone, the first words out of my mouth are, “Take me off speaker.” It makes this annoying echo that confuses the hell out of me.

Anyway, the article states, “the ‘possibly carcinogenic’ category also includes substances such as pickled vegetables and coffee.” When you look at it that way, I don’t think you have much to worry about.

So many things we ingest and expose ourselves to can cause cancer. I can hardly keep up. Here’s a list of the Top 10 Foods that Increase Cancer Risk I consume 5 of the 10 regularly. I don’t really care. I’m not going to change because some of those foods are ones that I absolutely love. My motto: Eat right, exercise regularly, die anyway.

The cancer you will possibly get from your cell phone is nothing compared to the cancer I will probably get from all that delicious, dangerous food.

Talk away, and I’ll eat away.


21 responses to “Are Cell Phones Carcinogenic?

  • Dusty

    I can also get hit by a beer truck when I cross the fucking street. Jaysus, this ‘study’ really drives me up a wall.

    I use my cell more for texting than calls. I hate that people now a days would rather text than talk. If you are going to spend a couple of minutes writing me a text mutha fucka…call me fer christs sake.

  • lobotero

    I have GOT to find a way to get in on all this grant money for studies!

  • nonnie9999

    the good news is that there’s a list of foods that prevent cancer, and there are a few on there that i eat or drink, so i think that cancels out the ones i eat that cause cancer.

    know what i think really causes cancer? worrying about all the things they tell you causes cancer. i’m only half-joking. i think your state of mind is important to your health.

  • afrankangle

    It’s interesting how culture has evolved around NOW. Our land lines are available so you can get the next call now (while on another call). Call-forwarding so you can get a call now, but in another location. Cell phones (generally) allow you to get a call anyway at any time. Data-driven phones allow people to get the emails now. Maybe those of us who knew life without now are the resistors … me included as I use my cell as a phone when I turn it on .. but it does come in handy.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Exactly! Those of us who remember what it’s like to wait aren’t hyperventilating because we don’t have one, or there’s no signal.
      Now, now, now. I remember when the operator was only able to break through a line for emergencies. It was helpful during high school when I was on the phone for hours with my BFF. No e-mail or IM 😀

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    I’m so with you on this, Spinny. I loathe cellphones and the sight of all these people walking around with their phones glued to their ears disturbs me. So many people never SEE anything but the face of their phone. Ugh.

  • Ric

    Okay, okay, I used to be a cellphone loather. Still am. But now I carry one, primarily for the emergency meme, occasioned by my realization last year as a hurricane headed this way that I would have no phone service if the power went out for any length of time. Not that I ever actually use the phone to talk to anyone or do more with it than send an occasional text (I’ve heard rumors that you actually have to want to associate with humans if you want to talk on the phone with them, so I don’t quite qualify as a cellphone user on that count).

    But I still want to smack those idiots I see driving around with a phone stuck in their ear.

    But I must also admit to being a gadget lover (or addict) and my little Rumour 2 candy bar phone appeals to that sick, pathetic part of my personality… 😆

    Anyway, if I fall down in the back yard and can’t get up I’ll at least be able to call for help… assuming I haven’t fallen on the phone and broken it. I’m old enough to think about things like that.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Eww you caved!!! Just kidding. But it is rather odd that a misanthrope such as yourself would have one.

      OMG not only is that irritating, is dangerous as hell!

      You know those Rumour 2s do look like Hershey bars. Let me guess. Yours is purple.

      You mean you don’t have a Life Alert around your neck? 😉

      • Richard Gerace

        Even misanthropes need an ambulance now and then. Or a pizza delivered in the middle of nowhere.

        Nope. It’s black and dark gray. Although it has failed and VM is sending me a new one – hopefully it will be just as dull looking – no polka dots or purplishness.

        Life Alert? Jeez, girl, I’m older, not old. I’m still capable of engaging in hottie-ness… I think.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Pizza? ‘Nuff said.
        Hahaha now I hope it is polka dots. Pretty! 😛
        I knew you’d like that one. I’m sure you are, Don Juan. 😉

  • lyttleton

    Everything will give you cancer. The trick is to use the stuff that makes it worth getting cancer.

    Mmm, whiskey.

Leave a Reply

