Hardball with Chris Matthews: High School Student Takes on Administration

I am impressed with this young guy’s passion. He’s challenging a 2008 Louisiana law that he feels is a way to get Creationism taught in public school science classes. I am a theistic evolutionist myself. Despite my belief in God, I think Creationism should not be taught in a science class. Religion does not belong there.

Enjoy! 🙂

Vodpod videos no longer available.


17 responses to “Hardball with Chris Matthews: High School Student Takes on Administration

  • Terrance H.

    A bunch of nonsense. I don’t understand how they seem to think that that particular law would trump the U.S. Constitution, even if someone WERE to attempt to bring Creationism into the classroom.

    You CAN’T teach Creationism, period. So, why overturn a law that allows teachers to, say, bring The Origin Of Species into the classroom? The law allows them to bring in supplemental material to help the children understand the material better. It could be a Richard Dawkins book!

    Is there a particular example this kid is moaning about, or is he just trying to make a name for himself by creating an issue out of a non-issue?

    And I’m writing this as I listen – and there is the rub. Michelle Bachmann. That’s what this is all about. Right vs. Left, not the integrity of science education in Louisiana.

    • Spinny Liberal

      So if it can’t trump the US Constitution, why bother with it? Teachers have been bringing in supplemental material for years. Provided it’s approved, it’s fine. There is absolutely no need for this law. Unless you want to open the door to something like Creationism.

      Sorry, but there are professors (including Jindahl’s) and Nobel prize winning scientists who openly object to this law. They, too, seem to believe there is something fishy about this law. Since they’re a bajillion times smarter than me, I’ll defer to their judgment.

      • Terrance H.

        I’m not certain teachers can bring in whatever they want. This law ensures they are able to do so, provided it pertains to the material being learned and it’s not religious. The outrage is unnecessary.

        Appeal to authority. Are you serious? This is a political game being played, Spinny. Unless someone can show me a specific example of the law being used to push Creationism into the schools, then I can’t consider it anything else.

      • Spinny Liberal

        The fact that a specific example is needed to prove that this isn’t a political game is your opinion then, Terrance. The controversy is about the law opening the door so that Creationism can be taught in school.

      • Terrance H.

        It’s not opening a door, Spinny. Period. End of story. The U.S. Constitution forbids it.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Then why the hell bother with the law? I think they’re being sneaky.

  • lobotero

    You know this would be a better debate if we Americans actually had an adequate education……we do not….

  • beaglezmom

    Like many people in progressive/post-modern Christianity, I believe in a Creator God who can use the process of evolution to create as easily as a finger-snap/breath. However, when it comes to school – I think science needs to stick to the HOW of how human beings came to be and leave the WHO to churches and the WHY to philosophy class.

  • lbwoodgate

    I think we (the evolutionist) should take the tact of the creationist. If they insist on teaching their religious views in public schools then we ought to be able to balance the ledger by teaching evolution in their Sunday school classes on Wednesday and Sundays.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Sounds good to me. Maybe someone can show how animals change to adapt to the changes of the environment (some, rather quickly). After singing songs and snacks though.. 😀

    • Terrance H.

      Too late Woodsy; our church already includes it in their summer science lessons.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Dang church includes summer science lessons now? Gone are the days of the juice and coloring pages with Noah’s Ark.

      • Terrance H.

        Heck yeah. The Catholic Church we attend holds an annual summer science fair, so all participating children attend classes to help them along. I know Evolution is taught because I subbed one day.

        And, yes, we’re back at the Catholic Church. We tried that whole Evangelical thing for awhile, but those people are something else, man. Seriously. Like, we went to this class the church was holding because we were lobbied incessantly until we agreed. It was a class discussing the meaning of putting on the armor of God. Nothing wrong with that. It’s a very beautiful part of the Bible.

        However, people in the class started talking crazy talk. Like this one lady was all like, “I didn’t have the armor on. I tried to fight a spiritual war with a warlock who was sitting in front of me.” She broke down crying and said, “I just knew he was a warlock. A week later, I had to have an emergency hysterectomy. If I was wearing the armor of God, that wouldn’t have happened.”

        I looked at the guy teaching the class and was like, “I gotta bounce, dude. Peace!”

        Nothing with believing that kind of stuff, you know. I mean, whatever floats your boat. It’s cool. But I don’t want to be around that kind of talk, personally. Warlocks? Seriously.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Warlocks. Um, wow. I never heard that before. Good call on going back to your old church.

  • lyttleton

    “You don’t need a law to teach critical thinking. That’s what science is.” Nicely put.

Leave a Reply

