Ed Schultz, Accountability, and Freedom


Ed Schultz Apologizes: Laura Ingraham Comments ‘Vile And Inappropriate’

I’m glad he owned it and apologized. As a Liberal, it was really disappointing and embarrassing. He’s taking his medicine by apologizing on the show and is suspended for a week without pay.

Now, this is what I’ve been thinking about since this story surfaced. Ed Schultz works directly for a network – NBC. Of course, they don’t want his words to reflect negatively on them. So, they make him apologize and suspend him.

Rush Limbaugh has a nationally syndicated radio show. Over the millenia that he’s been on the air (feels like it), he has spouted the nastiest comments. Racist, sexist, whatever-ist, he’s said it. He’s apologized here and there. People have apologized for him. Yet, there’s no real accountability. Is he afraid that radio stations will drop his program? Hell no. His popularity ratings are off-the-charts. No radio station would drop the program and the advertising revenue that comes with having a solid following.

To be clear, pointing this is out does not mean I am condoning Ed Schultz’s behavior. It was totally classless. “Slut” may be colloquial nowadays, but it’s still sexist and rude. I wish there was punishment for Rush Limbaugh, too, though. It’s pretty much, “Sorry I said Michael J. Fox was faking his Parkinson’s Disease. Now, back to those evil Liberals.” To me, that really sucks.

If there are two levels of accountability, suspension and sorry, I say forget the whole standards thing. Let them all say what they want to say. Do or do not apologize. Let the viewers and listeners decide whether or not they want to continue watching and listening.

Is that the answer? Should we have unregulated freedom on radio and TV? I have no problem with that, actually. People should be able to decide what they want to listen to and watch. Popularity and ratings could dictate what stays and goes. As far as children being exposed, that’s why they have parents.

I know there are those who have a huge problem with that. Considering the outrage after Janet Jackson’s peek-a-boobie during the Superbowl, this is not in the foreseeable future. I guess we’ll continue as we have.

Anyway, this is what I do know for sure. I don’t like that when Ed says something “vile and inappropriate,” there are serious repercussions. However, Rush can say something equally “vile and inappropriate” and nothing happens.


27 responses to “Ed Schultz, Accountability, and Freedom

  • Kendrick Macdowell

    Why post Spinny? If you just wanted to use Schultz to gig Limbaugh — for unspecified but certain sins — then doesn’t the “condemnation” of Schultz ring quite hollow? Why not just defend Schultz? And the suggestion that Schultz is experiencing something that never happens to conservatives is absurd.

    Schultz is extraordinary precisely because he went way beyond the conventional “apology” and made it real. He deserves the thanks of every American who pays attention to politics and political discourse. He got it profoundly right.

    This post back-tracks and makes Schultz’ apology sound very much like a conventional political apology — “sorry, but…”

    “Sorry, but…” is exactly what Ed Schultz did not do, and God bless him for that. It’s why he’s praiseworthy — unless his apology gets conscripted by enough commentators who gut the grace of his apology and convert it to more abstract partisan politics. Then we’ll all have to weigh in on multiple instances of commentator crassness, left and right (and I have bunches on hold), and the beauty of Ed Schultz’s sincere apology will be squandered.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Why post? Because I felt like it. I never suggested that Conservatives don’t have to eat their words sometimes and apologize. I was talking pundit to pundit. I wanted to make the comparison because that’s what I was thinking when the story first came out.

      Ed’s apology was a class act.

  • Dusty

    Yes, slut is a bad word. So is C*unt and I use it all the time for females whom I would spit in their mouths if they were dying of thirst.

    Would Ed of gotten away w/that word instead of slut? Just curious. I know I don’t have a public forum like Ed, on the nations airwaves but a blog is considered a public access channel according to EFF.

    As many progressive panties as got in a wad over this, I guess he had no choice. Poor sot, as ironically Laura makes her living attacking and name calling we progressives, or anyone left of her for that matter.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Using the C word would have been career suicide, IMHO. Ooooooh I hate that word. 😡

      • Dusty

        I am sorry if it bugs you but as a female I feel I can use that word in specific situations on my personal blog. Sort of like when African Americans use the word nigger with each other.

        For me, bitch is not a bad word..I refuse to let the other side use it in that way when referrig to me.

      • Spinny Liberal

        I just hate the word itself. Not the Dusty (or DC for that manner), who uses it. 😉

  • Dusty

    oops..that is ‘wouldn’t spit’.

  • Don in Mass

    I agree with Kendrick on this. Schultz made a mistake, he owned up to it, apologized, and took a week off. End of story. Now move on.

    • Spinny Liberal

      It was the story du jour, so I posted on it. Since the American public’s attention span is short, I will be moving on…to the next controversy. Which should happen any second now. Hahaha 😛

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    Yeah, I’ve got to say that this incident deserves no comparisons to others, no “but so and so said…” I wouldn’t diminish Schultz’s apology by bringing up other outrages. And, I don’t believe that people ought to be able to say anything they want on radio or TV. Gawd, what an awful place this world would be then. How do you gather substantive content from any speech or rant which is peppered with profanity and insults? How does one hear the message maker and attach credibility? I don’t agree with Dusty at all – He had no choice? Seriously? Perhaps Mr. Schultz realized that he betrayed himself, his better instincts on this matter, and he made the choice to deliver a sincere apology. How very cynical to believe that people only apologize to save their jobs. What a world.

    • Spinny Liberal

      I wasn’t the one who made the slut boo boo on the air. Ed did and apologized sincerely which was really cool. I don’t believe my comparison diminishes his apology in any way. He didn’t make the comparison. I did.

      ETA: “How do you gather substantive content from any speech or rant which is peppered with profanity and insults?” Very good point. I would be able to I think. Yet for some, the words would not only be offensive but distracting.

    • Dusty

      We all give our opinions here and frankly his use of the word was wrong to many, but didn’t stroke me out as it has a lot of other progressives. I understand his apologizing for using it Snoring Dog.

      My comment was directed at him having no choice but to apologize…sorry if it wasn’t clear.

  • Dusty

    Well,at least I smile a smile out of ya Spinny! hAVE A GOOD LONG WEEKEND SWEET MAN. 😉

  • Terrance H.

    Spinny,

    Rush Limbaugh is the most listened to radio host. He brings the station BIG TIME money. He’s in the radio hall of fame. Etc…

    Ed Schultz is a nobody compared to Limbaugh.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Is he? I didn’t know he was numero uno.

      • Terrance H.

        Yep.

        The Top 10 are as follows:

        1). Rush Limbaugh

        2). Sean Hannity

        3). Michael Savage

        4). Glenn Beck

        5). Mark Levin

        6). Dave Ramsey

        7). Dr. Laura

        8). Delilah

        9). Neal Boortz

        10). Laura Ingraham

        When Bill O’Reilly had his radio show, I think he was in second place.

        But the point is that Rush Limbaugh would get picked up in a second by another network should he ever get fired. He’s a cash cow.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Wow. That explains why when people ask him to run for POTUS (gag), he answers, “I can’t afford the pay cut.”

        I wonder who will take Glenn Beck’s place. I laughed when I saw Delilah, the sappy love song lady. She’s fun. Very cute.

  • dcmartin

    Eye roll.
    Oh, Ok. Apologizing for/ acknowledging improper conduct
    is only for “nobodies”. Rush Limbaugh can call Laura Ingraham a slut any time he wants.
    Good to know.
    can’t wait for him to call her TFC-J TC!!!!!!
    🙂

    • Spinny Liberal

      Hahaha. Naaah. Someone should call him your copyrighted phrase. Well, maybe not. I’m not too fond of the word in there. Maybe you can make up an embellished douchebag description. Pretty please? 😀

    • Terrance H.

      Yes, he can get on the air today and call Obama a monkey and he’ll keep his job, even if he has to apologize. Spinny is right when she says Limbaugh has said worse. He has! He’s said some of the most racist things I’ve ever heard, but guess what? He still has his job. Why? He’s a bread winner for the station. People, even liberals, listen to Limbaugh.

      Comparatively, Schultz is a nobody. It’s all about the money.

      • dcmartin

        I’m not of the opinion Limbaugh should lose his job for what he says, or anyone else, for that matter ( I thought the Imus thing was crap – stupid thing he said, he apologized….move on).
        But should he be held accountable for what he says by his employers?
        You betcha.

Leave a Reply

