Sometimes, the Base Drives Me Crazy

I’m an unapologetic Liberal. But I’m not 100% Liberal. And I’m unapologetic about that too. I did make the mistake of sharing one of my non-liberal views on The Daily Kos, the Liberal Mecca.

I don’t believe in tax-payer funded abortion unless the woman’s life is in danger or she is a victim of rape or incest. Because it is elective, she should pay for it.

I know. Would I rather pay for an abortion now or years of welfare? I have issues with welfare, but I won’t go into that now. It’s not an issue of short-term vs. long-term cost. It’s about responsibility. They had sex, and it was an unplanned pregnancy. Sad, but it happens. If she wants an abortion, fine. It’s her choice. I don’t want my tax dollars to pay for her mistake.

I know. She’s poor and can’t afford one. And? There is a charity that helps women pay for their abortions. Fund Abortion Now

I know. Some lifestyle choices like smoking can lead to cancer. Should treatment be offered to them if they can’t afford it? Yes. I understand that this is a good point that I can’t refute. I still don’t believe that tax payers should fund elective abortions. I demonstrated that “feeling doesn’t equal rational thinking” according to one poster. I can accept that.

But so the f*ck what? It’s my opinion, and I’m entitled to it. Why do I have to justify it to the base? Why am I called a “troll” or “not a very good Liberal?” Just because a few of my opinions divert from the “normal” Liberal view? Do we all have to be the same?

Members of the Liberal base, you drive me crazy sometimes. I don’t give a flying Fig Newton if you hate having to share the Big Tent with me. Sharing it with those who can’t accept that not everyone is like them isn’t roses and cupcakes either. I’m here, you’re here, and we’re Liberals. There are things we will agree with and others that we won’t. Deal with it. You can tell me (as you did), “Go f*ck yourself, neighbor!” And I can tell you (as I did), “Right backatcha, neighbor!” Or you can call me a Right-Wing Troll. Yeah, that one stung a little.

In the end, the stuff we do agree on will make me look past our neighborly squabble. Will you?


32 responses to “Sometimes, the Base Drives Me Crazy

  • lobotero

    Spinny, I am a radical progressive and I have told Kos what I think of them on several occasions…most of them are NOT true progressives…most just want to see their names in print….ignore them…they are a useless waste of your talent…

    • Spinny Liberal

      Good for you! Yeah, there are a lot of issues there. The Liberals vs. the “Firebaggers,” The Obamabots vs. those who can’t stand him. And on and on.

      • Terrance H.

        Most of them are communists, Spinny-Dear. I wouldn’t worry too much about what they think of you.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Haha Communists. I don’t think they’re that far Left. Some, of course, are. Usually that’s what the fighting is about in there. The liberals vs. firebaggers. The Obama apologists vs. those who would rather have a colonoscopy than vote for him. It’s fascinating to watch, but I don’t like to get involved. Brought it on myself, though. Haha

  • Kendrick Macdowell

    Wait a sec… “Go F*ck yourself” was okay — but “you right-wing troll” “stung a little”?? %!*&X!&! Sorry. Back now. Is it really that horrible for a liberal to be associated, even very remotely and incidentally, with the right? More horrible than “go F*ck yourself”? (Putting aside the intriguing possibility.) How do we ever talk Spinny? Are you just barely tolerating me? Would you really prefer to go f*ck yourself than be associated with me? (Hmmm, I’m starting to get the conflict.)

    Never mind. I butted in on a liberal dispute. None of my business. But kudos to you and lobotero for not being doctrinaire. That’s how it starts (in the good way :)).

    • Spinny Liberal

      It’s more about being a “right wing troll” vs. being associated with the right wing. And the troll part pissed me off.

      Kendrick, my love, we speak very nicely to each other. Plus, I wouldn’t read your blog or talk to you if I barely tolerated you. 🙂

      Dave at the Con club says in every Liberal there’s a Conservative dying to get out. Haha 😉

  • lbwoodgate

    like I pointed out in an earlier response to one of your post spinny, douche bags abound. You just gotta not let them push your buttons.

    I too tire of those on the extreme fringes of our political viewpoint. They remind me of those people who take in more stray animals they can care for and eventually wound up creating more suffering for themselves and the animals they are trying to help.

    • Spinny Liberal

      I should definitely not let them push my buttons. This post was me bloodletting. Cathartic.

      Yes! Animal hoarders. They start off with good intentions, but then it goes terribly wrong.

  • Beneath The Tin Foil Hat

    One of the great things about being human is that we are unique, and have the ability to think for ourselves. Though some would believe that we should all be labeled and married to specific ideological game plans, this is simply not the case.

    I think a true liberal is one that is open to ideas, and accepting of other people’s beliefs.

    Good for you for sticking to your guns!

  • afrankangle

    Spinny,
    This reminds of what is going on in the other tent, especially when I hear RINO.

    Yes, we are all different, and most of us are ideological mutts. Good job of standing by your beliefs.

    BTW, at the time of the healthcare debate, I told a friend that the Dems could get more GOP votes by including tort reforms and a stance against federally-funded abortions.

    OH my my … not to change the subject …. I just heard Newt whinning in an interview.

    • Spinny Liberal

      RINO. I hear that a lot from your tent. People have all kinds of views. Some on your side are fiscally Conservative, Socially liberal.

      Ahaha Newt. Good ol’ Newt. Perpetual candidate. After an apocalypse, the only ones left will be cockroaches, Cher, and Newt. 😉

      • afrankangle

        “My tent” … what a hoot. I’m one of the socially liberal, fiscal conservative types without a party. Well, I vote (more often) in the GOP primary b/c with local candidates, the only race is generally in the primary. Much of suburban Cincinnati voters (sad to say) make selections based on the party.

        Anyway, Repubs think I’m a Dem while Dems think I’m a Repub. It’s actually kind of fun that way. 🙂

      • Spinny Liberal

        They didn’t invite you into the tent? I tend to vote along party lines, myself.

        😆 Always keep them guessing. Love that.

  • dcmartin

    I’d like to know how the Kos-types, who are the left’s equivalent of the right’s extreme teabaggers, came to the conclusion that THEY are “the Base”????
    Screw ’em.

  • beaglezmom

    Human beings categorize and ritualize in order to provide a measure of control to their life. It gives us security. Hence, the more someone needs to “box” things the more insecure they usually are. So – the need to draw big dark lines around the word “Liberal” and make sure everyone always stays in the lines isn’t really about you – its about them, and the inability to validity something different then their expectations. Individuality is the mark of a truly free society — keep at it!

    • Spinny Liberal

      Good point – categorizing helps us stay in control. It’s easier to not have to deal with someone who has a different view. I think we should listen to their side too. We should be able to get along regardless. Like Briscoe and Belle. 😀

      • beaglezmom

        True — hearing something different won’t hurt you — It’s a shame we have such a limited tolerance to diversity. All the beagles get along (beagles get along with everyone. For my political affiliation I frequently list myself as a beagle-tarian). The only one in our house who doesn’t live in harmony is Cosette. But, of course, she is our overlord – she can’t be expected to like us. 🙂

      • Spinny Liberal

        Yeah just hear them out. Then agree to disagree. Cosette is kind of a b*tch. Ahaha sorry.

      • beaglezmom

        Ha ha — she’s not “kinda” one — she is totally one! Any cat who is 15 years old and weighs 30 pounds pretty much has a lock on “bitch”. 🙂

  • The Hook

    Sometimes it’s hard to escape the aftermath of an argument, isn’t it?

  • afrankangle

    Spinny,
    Because of my registration, I get mailings and phone calls – some informative, others annoying. Bottom line, the socially liberal-fiscally conservative are without a home as those on each side only want them for their vote and money.

  • Neil Aquino

    I really enjoy Fig Newtons. I had some today. Please keep mentioning this cookie.

  • Terrance H.

    Spinny,

    Want a good, liberal experience? Read The Nation. I have a subscription. They are quite a bit liberal, but fair, I think, and not outrageously, ridiculously to the Left. Some of their writers and readers may be, but by and large, they are fair. Heck, I wrote them a pithy little letter in response to an article and they published it! So, I respect that. I love The Nation, even though I disagree with them.

    Screw the Daily Kos.

Leave a Reply

