We Don’t Need to See Osama’s Face Blown Off

Majority Agree with Obama Decision on Bin Laden Photos: Poll

Hmmm. The results of the poll were surprising to me. I think I’ve been listening to a lot of the Right pundits who have to see the photos lest they die or something.

Mama and papa hosted fight night at their house last night. Papa asked me what I thought about the photos. I said, “He should release them to shut those people up who don’t believe he’s dead.” He didn’t agree. He believes it really could incite violence in the Muslim world.

I don’t know if it’s that. The people who are pissed about his death didn’t need pictures to piss them off. They’ve already stated they want blood.

I believe Obama isn’t releasing the photos because of the whole afterbirther debacle. Some people just won’t believe Osama is dead, even if there are photos. There is already DNA evidence that says there is a 1 in eleven quadrillion chance it’s not him. His wife identified him. They ID’d him with facial recognition. And al Qaeda confirmed his death.

Even with all that, if Obama releases pictures, Proofers/Deathers won’t believe. I kinda wish he would make them public. Even though it won’t make them believers, their credibility would be even more shot. They will slowly fade into the background. Plus, anyone who has a little doubt can finally be convinced.

Those are the only reasons why. I don’t need to see blood and gore. The photos of the other people in the compound who were killed were gruesome enough.

There are those who really want to see them. I’ve been in some forums with people who would be happy to see the photos. They think liberals are “saving them from themselves” by taking away their choice to see them. Um OK. Anyway, it’s like they want to revel in the victory, and the pictures make it even more real? I don’t know. Maybe they get their rocks off looking at dead people. It creeped me out.

In the end, it’s Obama’s call. Like I told the people in the forums. “We don’t need to see them. You and other others want to. We don’t always get what we want.”


18 responses to “We Don’t Need to See Osama’s Face Blown Off

  • Kendrick Macdowell

    Can’t tell for sure where you end up. “I kinda wish he would make them public.” Then, “we don’t need to see them. You and other others want to. We don’t always get what we want.” What’s the problem with forthrightly saying, no need for pictures? Pictures “prove” nothing anymore. Therefore, bullet-in-head pictures play only to prurient impulses — and not incidentally, give “angry Muslims” another spurious reason to be angry. Kind of a no-brainer. I think we totally agree — but you did that forum thing with lots of people half a thought behind (or possibly, eager for “angry Muslims” to do something else profoundly provocative and stupid so that we can have our stupid religious war).

    • Spinny Liberal

      I’m for making them public if it would shut up the deathers. It might not though.

      When I wrote, “We don’t need to see them. You and other others want to. We don’t always get what we want.” I meant that it’s Obama’s call. What they want to see and I don’t need to see becomes irrelevant.

      I don’t know. Bottom line I don’t need to see them.

  • Terrance H.

    Spinny,

    I’m with Kendrick, although I’m not sure about his last statement. I don’t like its implication.

    In any event, if the photos were released, it would incite more violence. A picture of the Al Qaeda leader dead, half his head blown off? Rather degrading to the entire movement, I find.

    A much more mundane example would be abortion. I’m angry at the thought of it, but when I see the photographs of aborted fetuses, I’m enraged, sickened, and saddened. Same principle.

    Either way, the deniers will continue to deny. If the photographs were released, they’d bellow “photoshopped!” You’re not going to win with those people.

  • lobotero

    There is NO need to make them public…AQ has issued a statement saying that OBL is dead….that is enough proof….unless this is a story that people want to continue to keep us from focusing on the inept Congress…..

  • lbwoodgate

    There is a morose aspect about some humans that needs to see the death of others in all its forms. This may be what possesses some who are anti-Obama as well as those who are not.

  • afrankangle

    Simply a good decision by President Obama.

  • Snoring Dog Studio

    I think you underestimate the tenacity of the conspiracy theory and its owners. There were still many among them who disbelieved the birth certificate when it was shown. As for inciting violence – we don’t need to go too far back to show that images and incidents, publicly witnessed, can do harm (the burning of the Koran and its violent aftermath, for example). And frankly, there are far too many people in the U.S. who glorify killing and look upon the death of OBL as a touchdown, a goal scored. We don’t need an America like that. The U.S. sent in its soldiers to do a job; they performed according to their training. A tyrant is dead. I don’t see any benefit in letting the narrative explode into unintended consequences.

  • Don in Mass

    I believe that we do not need to see the photos, as it would serve no purpose, but to make a few people throw up, after looking at them. And I will for one wish that people would stick to the subject at hand when commenting, instead throwing other subjects onto the matter that he/she wrote about. Abortion has nothing to do with the photo(s) of Bin Laden. I rest my case.

  • beaglezmom

    Weighed in the balance – its a good decision to hold them back. Proofers don’t really want the pictures and wouldn’t believe them if they came out. So what’s driving one side is simply our cultural morbid curiosity and what’s driving the other is the reality that releasing them shows massive disrespect to an entire group of people in the world and simply creates more problems. It’s the best call for the greatest good.

    My uncle was a special forces marine in Vietnam and through him I have met a couple of navy SEALs. SEALs don’t play around and they don’t play politics. They view themselves as “solution machines” and they don’t stop until the solution has been achieved. Proofers can rattle their own cages all they want – if the SEALs say he’s dead — he is.

    Besides, if he were alive – he would immediately release a statement saying that is not him sitting there in his ratty room in a blanket watching TV! Talk about mythos busting!

  • The Hook

    I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

