Superman Says, “I’m Moving to Canada!”

Not really, but he doesn’t want to be American anymore and is renouncing his U.S. citizenship. I remember reading about this in passing and thinking, “Oh OK, whatever.” I didn’t think anything about it until I heard Karel talk about it tonight on the radio as I was doing my Saturday night burger ritual. After reading comments in articles about it, people have very strong opinions.

Some think this is insulting and unpatriotic of DC Comics to do this. “Truth, justice, and the American Way” was always the credo. Is he ashamed of being American? Some people see this as left-wing propoganda. This is their way of crapping all over America’s values. Even Superman is not buying America’s exceptionialism and that offends people.

Others think this is a good thing because it acknowledges that the United States is just one of many countries. In the issue, Superman says, “‘Truth, justice and the American way’ – it’s not enough anymore. The world’s too small, too connected.” In an age of anti-immigrant sentiment, it’s a nice reminder that we’re part of a global community. Citizens of the world.

Of course, there are a small group who think that this is another sign of a coming New World Order. Now, apparently, comic book publishers are being used to promote this one-world government. The fact that someone as American as apple pie is now a “global citizen” is another step to dismantling sovereign nations to favor some authoritarian collectivist. OK, that’s a little nuts, but so are most conspiracy theories.

All of this made me think a little harder about the fictional illegal alien from Krypton blessed with superhuman powers. I liked this line from the issue where Superman says, “I’m tired of having my actions construed as instruments of US policy.” Considering our history of propping up dictators and what we’ve done in Iraq, I don’t blame the Man of Steel. You can love America, but hate its foreign policy. And as our not-American-anymore hero said, “it’s not enough anymore.” He, and even those of us without power (superhuman or otherwise), can help people in other countries. In the name of humanity, which has no borders.

More power to our fictional, newly global Superhero.


19 responses to “Superman Says, “I’m Moving to Canada!”

  • lbwoodgate

    This may have more of an impact than real people because many in those anti-immigrant, anti-government movements are comic book characters themselves.

    Not that we shouldn’t take them seriously but that there ideas are mostly fantasy-based.

  • Terrance H.

    Who gives a damn what a cartoon character says about America? I mean, I like Woodgate, too, Spinny. But enough is enough. Who cares what he says?

  • The Hook

    This has become quite the hot-button issue, hasn’t it? It’s too bad DC Comics didn’t give this whole matter the proper coverage it deserves. It’s also too bad some people are making a super-mountain out of a fictiona-character molehill!

  • Jon

    Altruistic tard blogger is a tard. I am not, now, nor will I ever be a “global citizen”. I care nothing for starving North Koreans, or waring Africans. What have they ever done, for me, that didn’t involve blowing things up, or threatening to nuke civilized countries?

    Altruism is the ONLY real sin, and you are so used to committing it that you believe it’s natural. It’s close-minded, smug morons like you who are destroying our country and the world. Enjoy the crappy economy, soaring fuel prices, and global Anti-Americanism. You’ve earned it.

  • Terrance H.

    No, but that really pisses me off.

    You, Woodgate, Kendrick, and Snoring are all pro-choice, yet I’m ridiculously pro-life. I’ve had my issues with woodgate, but certainly not like that and it was a mutual thing. I’ve never once been rude enough to call any of you guys a “tard” or “smug morons” simply for disagreeing ith me. And I’ve even made it a point to limit the rhetoric I use when talking about pro-choicers in general, so as to not offend you guys. So for that douchebag to come here and say that kind of shit really annoys me.

    He’s a disgrace to all conservatives.

Leave a Reply

