Pedophile Bishop Disappears. Happy Easter!

Child Abuse Bishop Disappears from French Monastery

Yesterday was Palm Sunday. It’s the start of Holy Week, which ends on Easter Sunday. A former Belgian bishop and pedophile, Roger Vangheluwe, disappeared from his monastery yesterday. Where did he go? The response has pretty much been, “Hell if I know. Ask the papal nuncio office in Belgium.”

Lovely. I hope the French police are trying to find this guy. Or will it be another case of “Let the Vatican handle it?” I’m getting pretty damn sick of hearing stuff like this. The Church playing musical pedophiles, victims not getting justice, and when they’re exposed, no one keeps an eye on them.

I especially want this guy caught and brought to justice. After molesting two of his nephews, he doesn’t consider himself a pedophile and that children would be safe around him. I’m not even going to paraphrase. Here:

“As in all families: when they came to visit, my nephews would stay over. It began as a kind of game with this boy. It was never a question of rape, or physical violence. He never saw me naked and there was no penetration. I don’t in the slightest have any sense I am a paedophile. I don’t get the impression my nephew was opposed, quite the contrary.”

Oh. My. God. There are no words for scum like that. He did say, “I knew it wasn’t good, I confessed it several times.” Cool! Because that makes it all better. Ugh.

Kids will be hunting for colorful Easter eggs on Sunday. I hope someone is hunting for a pedophile. Starting today.


17 responses to “Pedophile Bishop Disappears. Happy Easter!

  • Terrance H.

    The Catholic Church should feel embarrassed for the way they handle the situation. For years they tried covering it up, transferring their villains instead of reporting them. Allowing the assaults to continue, creating even more child victims.

    We all know about it. It’s horrible. It’s sickening. It’s reprehensible. And overplayed.

    I firmly believe that so many people talk about it because it’s another way to vituperate Catholics, and Christianity in general. Because, statistically speaking, less than 1% of Catholic priests have molested a child, yet we hear about it so often, one might think the Catholic Church brims with perverts. In fact, a child is 100 times more likely to be molested in school by their teacher than in church by their priest.

    And don’t take my word for it, simply recall the 2004 study for the U.S. Department of Education.

    From it:

    …the physical sexual abuse of students in schools is likely more than 100 times the abuse by priests.

    And also:

    …the most accurate data available at this time” indicates that “nearly 9.6 percent of students are targets of educator sexual misconduct sometime during their school career.”

    The penchant to sexually abuse children is rampant, Spinny. It’s a pestilence that does not discriminate, existing in people from all walks of life. Catholic priests represent a very, very small number infestations.

    • Spinny Liberal

      Statistically, I’m sure that’s correct. I don’t think that’s why there is so much attention. It’s who is doing the abusing. Pastoral abuse can destroy the very thing victims should be able to turn to when they’re dealing with what happened to them – their faith. Also, playing musical chairs with this priests and paying people off to keep quiet is disgusting. The only way to get rid of the infestation is to shine a light on it and know what you’re dealing with.

      Just the idea of the ones who took on the responsiblity of tending to Jesus’ flock doing such horrendous things makes people sick and angry. If I may quote the Good Book. Jeremiah 3:15 KJV “And I will give you pastors according to mine heart, which shall feed you with knowledge and understanding.”

      Priests are held to a higher standard as they should be. They are called by God to take care of His believers. Nourish the flock, not kill the spirits of some of them, especially innocent children.

      • Terrance H.

        I”m afraid that’s not a good argument. You’re essentially saying that religious figures are, on average, more moral than teachers, and are therefore less likely to molest and rape children. Absurd.

        In a child’s mind, he or she doesn’t consider the likelihood of sexual molestation. He or she doesn’t think to themselves, “Gee, I should be O.K. in Father So-So’s office.” A child trusts his priest and teacher equally and doesn’t apply a cost/benefit analysis before stepping into their office.

        When someone betrays that childlike trust, we have a responsibility to report it and talk about it and shine the light on it. But we need to be proportional. We shouldn’t focus the attention on a single group because it’s more endearing to our political stripe.

        Children should feel safe in the classroom, too. Teachers are just as important to children as religious figures, if not more so. I think all adults who are directly involved with children are held to the same standard. To claim that someone is or should be more moral and trusted because of their religious beliefs is intensely evangelical, and not something I would expect to hear from a liberal.

      • Spinny Liberal

        Good argument or not, that is how I feel. Others share it. People look at the churches and expect clergy to be more moral, whether or not it’s fair or accurate. Why? Because they’re preaching morality all the time. Honestly, I don’t care if the light shining is proportional or not. Just so long as it’s shined. And it is shined on teachers as well. We’ve been hearing gross stories of female teachers having relations with students. For a while, the stories just kept coming. Either group can keep the spotlight off of themselves simply by not abusing or covering it up.

      • Terrance H.

        I think you’re just being biased, Spinny. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but this is about the third article/comment you’ve made about the Catholic Church and it’s child molestation history in only a few months, yet I do not recall a single article regarding teachers.

        Why? One would think that a teacher would be more upset at the notion that, statistically, educators are the real villains. Teachers who take advantage of children make all teachers look bad in the public’s perception.

        Also, I don’t think people expect religious figures to be more moral. We’re all human and we all sin. Furthermore, I don’t believe one has to be religious in order to be moral.

        Weird that you feel that way and I don’t. One would expect it to be the other way around.

      • Spinny Liberal

        This is post #2 on disgusting, perverted clergy, and I’ve only been doing this a few months. 😉

        I probably am biased. I’m more upset with the clergy because it has to do with faith. I believe in God, and I find comfort in Him. The fact that the clergy, God’s shepherds here on earth, can destroy the spirits and faith of children sickens me. In some of my darkest hours, I’ve turned to God. If your faith in God is twisted because one of His agents ruins it, where do you go? It’s the possible destruction of faith that angers me.

        I also believe that you don’t have to be religious to be moral. And I think people expect clergy to be more moral because they’re constantly yapping about it.

      • Terrance H.

        Post #2, but you’ve made comments on it as well.

        Spinny, I don’t see priests and clergymen as “agents of God” anymore than other faithful Christians. Clergy have studied His word and have decided to profess it for a living, but living by His word and teaching are two very different things. If one lives by the word, he or she may be called an agent of God, in my view. Or, a child of God. What have you.

        If you don’t believe people have to be religious in order to be moral, then you should be just as mortified, if not more so, about the abuse which occurs in schools by educators. But this is not what I’m seeing. Perhaps you are, but it doesn’t seem to show.

      • Spinny Liberal

        You’re correct. I’m not as or more mortified with educator abuse. Clergy abuse ruffles my feathers because of the possible destruction of faith due to the total destruction of spirit.

  • lobotero

    The albino from the “DaVinci Code” comes to mind…..

  • dcmartin

    Having “spokespeople” like Bill Donhue does not do much to help their case in the court of public opinion.

  • Kurt

    Terrence, how many children have direct contact with teachers compared to how many children have direct contact with Priests?
    Every case of child abuse is horribly evil, no matter who the perpetrator is.

Leave a Reply

