When Time-Outs Don’t Work, Try Mace

Colorado Police Pepper-Spray Misbehaving Boy, 8

OK, I know. My title and the title of the article make it seem like the boy talked out of turn and then got pepper sprayed. Not. even. close.

This boy went full-on psycho Chucky on the teacher and the class. He threw a TV and chairs. Some teachers took the other students and fled to another room. He tried to bust open the door to that room with a cart. When the cops found him, he had about a foot long piece of wood trim that was pointed like a knife at the end in one hand and a cardboard box in the other. He yells, “Come and get me f*$#@^s” to officers. He was finally taken down with pepper spray. It was the 2nd try because he blocked the first spray with his cardboard “shield.”

This is the part of the story that got me. I don’t know if the mom is a famewhore or thinks she and her son are victims:

Aidan and his mother went on national talk shows on Wednesday to say using pepper spray on an unruly 8-year-old was too much…On Wednesday, Mandy Elliott said she wished authorities had chosen to talk him down. She also wanted police to get special training in dealing with children. Aidan has since transferred to another school.

Are you frickin’ kidding me? This was the third time the officers had to come out and calm him down. The other times, they were able to talk him down. This time was obviously different because he had that “weapon.”

“I wanted to make something sharp, like if they came out, `cause I was so mad at them,” the boy said on NBC’s “Today” show. “I was going to try to whack them with it.”

I’m with the cops on this one. It’s not like they have a tranquilizer gun with syringes filled with Haldol. Pepper spray was the safest way to diffuse the situation. Talking to him wasn’t working, and wielding the shiv wasn’t helpful. It could have been a lot worse if they put they put their hands on him or used a taser.

I hope to God this woman doesn’t do something lame like sue the school or the cops. They did what they had to do to protect her kid and themselves.

Message to Aidan’s mom: First, get your son a lot of help. Quickly. You have to get to the bottom of this rage. Do not rule out inpatient therapy. Second, if you feel the urge to sue, remember what your son said when he was asked about the pepper spray. “I kind of deserved it.”


16 responses to “When Time-Outs Don’t Work, Try Mace

  • astrawally

    I’m with you, they had every right to stop this armed thug regardless of age. He deliberately tooled up for the fight. Cops get a herd run what ever they do…yeah sure sometime there rough but they are doing a difficult job. People should stop and think before they go criticizing them for there actions. And how on earth allowed his mother to breed in the first place. He needs anger management and she needs parent management.
    Thank you for the interesting post and for giving me a place to rant my view.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    • Spinny Liberal

      You’re definitely right that people should think before criticizing them. If there is a clear case of police brutality, I’d be the first to criticize them, though. Cuz I’m like that.

      He needs serious anger management classes. Playing internet psychiatrist, I think he has Intermittent Explosive Disorder.

      Thanks for reading and commenting astrawally. I still can’t believe that frog photograph wasn’t a painting. 🙂

      • astrawally

        Thank you
        Don’t get me wrong there is nothing worse than a Nazi with a badge or some jumped up impudent idiot who things he is Judge Dredd. Those idiots ruin what should be a protection service and turn them into goons with guns. And dcmartin is totally right taser the mother, maybe a bit of shock treatment will help.
        Much Love
        Astra Wally

      • Spinny Liberal

        Yes, those are definitely the ones who shouldn’t be police officers. Something needs to wake up that woman. Her son needs some serious help.

  • dcmartin

    Cops were right; Aidan needs therapy; Mom needs a good pepper spraying and a Taser session for being a huge douche and the source of her kids’ problems.

  • The Hook

    I honestly don’t know what to say about this. “Kid’s today, h’uh?” doesn’t sound strong enough, does it?

  • lbwoodgate

    My wife’s is an elementary school nurse and she has conveyed stories along these lines – not quite this extreme – with 6,7 and 8 year olds. The only way kids this young are able to know to say “f#@*?%” is to learn it at home.

    This kid and his mom need a good “scared straight” experience.

  • lobotero

    Pepper spray and an ass bustin’….these little shits are getting away with way too much…..

  • Terrance H.

    I don’t usually take the side of police in these situations – given the situation which happened in my town only a few years ago. But in this case, I’m siding with the police.

    The situation here was that a drunk 15-year-old, weighing 120lbs, was acting up. He had no weapons of any kind, and rather than three officers present simply grabbing hold of him and cuffing him, they chose to Taze him. He died. And I know the cop who Tazed him, too. A complete asshole who used to love writing me tickets!

    • Spinny Liberal

      Oh man. That sounds like way more force than necessary.

      I’m on the fence when it comes to the police. In this case, I’m with them. When cases like Oscar Grant and Rodney King come to light, I definitely side with the victim.

      • Terrance H.

        It’s beyond way more than necessary. Three trained police officers up against a 120lb 15-year-old? Absurd. At 6ft, 190lbs, by myself I know I could take that kid down and keep him there. If I can do it, three police officers, two of whom bigger than me, can definitely do it.

        The family filed a lawsuit and last I knew it was still on-going.

      • Spinny Liberal

        That is crazy. Considering there were three. Those tasers can be really bad news. Tragedy.

Leave a Reply

