What the Hell is an Exploratory Committee?

Pawlenty Announces WH Exploratory Committee

He’s calling for backers to “take back the government.” Oh OK. I get it. “Exploratory committee” is a fancy way of saying campaign.

According to the article, he had a bangin’ video where he said:

“We, the people of the United States, will take back our government. This is our country. Our founding fathers created it. Americans embraced it. Ronald Reagan personified it. And Lincoln stood courageously to protect it. That’s why today, I’m announcing the formation of an exploratory committee to run for president of the United States. Join the team and together we’ll restore America.”

Whoa. He invoked the spirit of the great Republican, Ronald Reagan. And he used we the people. This guy is dead serious. Too bad he is not that well-known compared to other potential hopefuls like Gingrich and Palin. Allow me to introduce Timothy James Pawlenty, a Sagittarius, born November 27, 1960:

  • Former Governor of MN (two terms)
  • Blue-collar background
  • Catholic turned Evangelical
  • No new taxes, but fees on cigarettes were A-OK
  • Signed abortion restricting legislation
  • Increased the availability of concealed weapons permits

This guy has all the qualifications for a GOP candidate. Minus the name recognition issue, he would make a fine candidate.

Good luck with your exploratory committee campaign, Timmy!


11 responses to “What the Hell is an Exploratory Committee?

  • Don in Mass

    Isn’t it funny how these people who say they “want their country back”, and have nothing but praise for Reagan like he was a god. Under Reagan, government got bigger, we had trickle down economy, and you know where that got us, which led Bush 41 making it worse, with people losing their jobs. Clinton cleans up the mess, gets the country back on its feet, then Bush 43 destroys the economy. To listen to guys like Pawlenty, Guiliani etc, all Republican blowhards, its Obama’s fault, not anybody else. The Evangelicals are the worst people to deal with, as they just don’t make any sense.

    • SpinnyLiberal

      Yup, even though it was Reagan that just piled on the debt, leaving future generations to take care of it. I swear, though, if they could raise him from the dead to lead, they would. Oh yeah – when all else fails, blame Obama. Evangelicals are OK…but when they start advocating for a Theocratic government, that’s when I have a problem.

      • Terrance H.

        I could take on the Reagan argument, and in fact will in a blog post soon. (I told you I would author a blog post discussiong abortion and the psychological consequences, and I made good on that promise.) So, for now, let’s agree to disagree.

        I like Tim Pawlenty, to be honest. I really like him. But I don’t like the Reagan-sque way he is going about it running. Look at the cover of his new book, which can be found http://www.wctrib.com/media/full/jpg/2011/01/11/pawlentybook.jpg

        Now look at this photo of Ronald Reagan, and tell me he isn’t trying to liken himself to the late and great Ronald Reagan. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/84/Ronald_Reagan_wearing_cowboy_hat_at_Rancho_Del_Cielo_1976.jpg

        The only difference is that Pawlenty isn’t wearing a hat and he isn’t smiling. But the clothing and the stance, the cocked-back stance, is all the same. That annoys me.

        But other than that, I love Tim Pawlenty! Woot Woot!

        And I’m an Evangelical. I bet I could make so much sense your head would spin. The trick is to speak Secular as well as Holly Roller. I’m fluent in both, which is why I annoy the piss out of liberals, because they aren’t able to cry “First Amendment” with me.

      • SpinnyLiberal

        Yeah I kinda see the similarity with the open collar cotton shirt. I like the choice of red for Pawlenty’s shirt. Oh anyone who wants to win will color himself like Reagan as much as possible, as he is the conservative demigod.

        Naah. Speaking secular and holy roller doesn’t trick us. Especially if your moniker spells out your views. 😉

        So are you one of those Evangelical Catholics? I know some are independent of the RCC.

      • Terrance H.

        We are Catholic, yes, but my wife recently wanted to check out another church – an Evangelical church, because they offer much more for children the Catholic Church we were attending.

        And, please, don’t even say it…Don’t even think it! LOL. The Priest at our former church is a good man.

  • The Hook

    It’s too bad everyone wasn’t as informed as you, my friend. Good post!

  • lobotero

    Pawlenty is a true conserv…small government…..fiscal policy….social policy…and he has massaged the prostate of the Tea Party….and now he can raise money,,,,,he has the chops but I do not think the American people will give him much notice….unless he does something spectacular…….like walk on water or something similar……..

    • SpinnyLiberal

      Massaged the prostate of the Tea Party. 😆 Gross. Yeah, he’s just not well-known nationally – neither was Obama. But I see Gingrich and Romney duking it out in the end. All of them don’t have much time.

      • Questioning With Boldness...

        Just my .02…. I don’t see it coming down to Romney and Gingrich at all. There is a strong likelihood of Paul Ryan being in the final pairing should he decide to run. I think he will become a cabinet member no matter who goes in, if it’s a GOP victory. I also think we may see something from Palin and if she does officially jump in, she’ll trump Gingrich. Romney has his loyal followers but outside of his circle of fans he is damaged goods now. Romneycare will not spin well for him. Newt is stuck with wives 1, 2, and 3 so he will have some battles that will cloud his message.

        Chris Christie will loom large over Newt and Romney should he enter, but I suspect he won’t. If he does, he has some serious questions to answer about some ethical challenges now. He took Obamacare funding, hence the none participation in the healthcare battles. That’s a big issue and will be a hurdle for him. There was also the controversial appointment of a judge that will come up and voters won’t like that either.

        I am a strong proponent of Allen West and he has made every indication that he will NOT engage in a Presidential run. I take him at his word now but I also suspect that if anything else happens to leverage him into the mix, he will stand out from the rest. He is the real deal and will get the vote once people become familiar with him. He has the broadest appeal factor for the Conservative base and sadly, the establishment base as well.

        Moral of the story, there are no clear frontrunners yet because all of them will face a microscope unlike any Republican Presidential primary candidate has ever gone under. The Tea Party will shake out the RINO’s and cut down the deceit in the rest. Be scared Spinny… we’re going to see probably the truest Conservative candidate in decades if not the last century.

      • SpinnyLiberal

        Well, I was a whole bunch of wrong. Not the first time won’t be the last, haha. I think I took a wild guess because those two are the ones making a lot of noise right now. 🙂 But thanks for the low down on who might be the final players.

        I’m not that scared. Perhaps a bit nervous. I just want the country to move forward, not backward. And both sides have their idea of what that means.

Leave a Reply

