Obama OKs Military Action in Libya

Obama: US Launches Military Action Against Libya

Ugh. I should have known it was too good to be true. In roughly 24 hours, we went from supporting France and the UK, to this:

“A senior military official said the U.S. launched air defenses Saturday with strikes along the Libyan coast that were launched by Navy vessels in the Mediterranean.”

Hopefully, this won’t take long. Jesus, this is insanity. Iraq, Afghanistan, and now Libya. Who’s next? Will it ever end?

“Obama declared once again that the United States would not send ground forces to Libya, though he said he is “deeply aware” of the risks of taking any military action.”

I’ll just expect the worst so I won’t be disappointed again.

Qathafi wrote Obama a letter and said, “You will regret it if you take a step toward intervening in our internal affairs.”

We know, psycho.


11 responses to “Obama OKs Military Action in Libya

  • Don in Mass

    I’m afraid this was going to happen, and it wouldn’t surprise me we are in it for a long time to come.

  • Terrance H.

    Iraq and Afghanistan cannot be compared to Libya. The people in Iraq and Afghanistan were not revolting; the people in Libya are. The people in Iraq and Afghanistan, in their mind, had nothing to gain by our action; the people in Libya have everything to gain, and they know it.

    Comparing Iraq and Afghanistan to Libya is like comparing apples and M16s; it just doesn’t work.

    • SpinnyLiberal

      Good point. I just don’t get why we went from supporting to bombing within 24 hours.

      • Terrance H.

        Yeah. I thought that was a bit odd myself. I hadn’t watched the news all day, because of March Madness (junkie), so when my father called to tell me, I was quite shocked. I expected sometime next week we might start bombing, but certainly not this soon. Weird.

      • SpinnyLiberal

        Beyond weird. Lightening the mood…So, how are your brackets doing?

      • Terrance H.

        I’m getting stomped. It all started when I bet against my team, Michigan, thinking Tennessee would beat them. Hell, Duke could only beat them by two points!

        Then Notre Dame lost tonight, my other school. Then a few upsets happened. Arg!!!!!!!!!!!!

        If Duke wins the whole dance, I won’t feel like a total putz, because that’s who I picked. If Ohio State ends up winning it, I’m heading toward Columbus with a can of gasoline and a lighter! I despise Ohio State!!!!!!

      • Terrance H.

        I mean, compared to Ohio State, I love liberals! That is how much I hate Ohio State.

      • Terrance H.

        In fact, if being a conservative meant you had to be an Ohio State fan, I would be a liberal – and damn proud.

        That is how much I hate Ohio State.

      • Terrance H.

        Actually, I hate Ohio State so much….

        I can’t think of anything, but I was on a roll.

      • SpinnyLiberal

        If Ohio State ends up winning it, I’m heading toward Columbus with a can of gasoline and a lighter! I despise Ohio State!!!!!!

        Hate-fueled pyromania is some serious hate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

