Birthers are So 2008

I open up my Yahoo! Mailbox, and there, under Top Stories, is House Leader Cantor Believes Obama is a U.S. Citizen It made me think, why is this news? Seriously, haven’t we turned that page?

There are still a lot of people who believe Obama was born in Kenya. I’ve only seen them in captivity -The Comment Sections of Yahoo! News, of course. I read the same stuff, like his grandmother saying she was present at his birth in Kenya.

I bring up the two newspapers that show his birth announcement. People still refute that. I guess The Honolulu Advertiser and The Star Bulletin both knew that he would be POTUS. They had to make sure there was a paper trail.

Most of us know he was born and grew up in Hawaii as evidenced by his desire to leave. 🙂 A lot of natives really want to leave “The Rock,” like my cousin Vickie. She ended up getting married and moving to a very snowy part of Washington State. Couldn’t be happier. It’s a familiar tale and one of the many reasons why I know he was born there.

Just when I think the Birthers have gone away, some lame talking head will bring it up (see above story of Meet the Press asking Cantor). Or someone unhinged spectator will yell about it in a gallery of the House of Representatives when they are reading the Constitution. I guess they’ll never go away, like the Truthers. Everyone loves a good conspiracy.

Anyway, I have channeled the ghost of a dead horse. He has a very important message to the Birthers. If you know one, listen up, and pass it on. “Please stop beating me.”


6 responses to “Birthers are So 2008

  • Kendrick Macdowell

    Amen: to Birthers and Truthers, please start reading more widely. Join a dialogue that might actually matter. You’re likely to have something useful to say, if you let go of the sinister, and the websites that profitably perpetuate these notions.

  • lbwoodgate

    Though you will never get one to admit it publicly the birthers are most likely racially motivated to disparage Obama. It would be too gauche of them to expose their racial bias merely because he is black; not in this day and age. But by aligning him with the Muslim heritage of his father it allows them to exploit the anti-Muslim fear in this country while satisfying their contempt for a man they feel isn’t a “true” American like the founding fathers – many of them slave holding aristocrats

  • Terrance H.

    I don’t believe the Birthers are racially motivated; I believe they are politically motivated. Let’s not make this out to be more than what it is. Obama was born in the U.S., but some folks think there is a chance he was born elsewhere – and imagine the uproar if they were right. It’s a political game, not a racial one.

  • SpinnyLiberal

    Hmm politically motivated as in sore losers? That I might buy. I definitely think it’s racially motivated, though. When it comes to racism, I don’t think we’ve progressed as much as we’d like to believe when it comes to attitudes. It’s just a lot more covert now. Hell, I had to eat my own words. I was pretty vocal about believing that there would be a female POTUS before a black one.

  • Terrance H.

    I don’t know how you cay it’s racially motivated when people like Alan Keyes question Obama’s presidential eligibility.

    • SpinnyLiberal

      Just because a black person questioned his eligibility? There’s still an older generation, who I would argue comprise much of that movement, that still have their prejudices. I think a lot were and are still shocked that there is a black man in the White House.

Leave a Reply

