Fired? Really?

I don’t understand MSNBC. Countdown with Keith Olbermann was one of MSNBC’s most popular shows. He was the liberal counterpart to the likes of Rush and Hannity.

I watched him from time to time, but not regularly. He just wasn’t that entertaining to me. Politics and entertainment value really shouldn’t go together, but sadly it does.

Olbermann has done some pretty offensive things over the years. Giving the Nazi salute while wearing a Bill O’Reilly mask was particularly charming. I believe it’s this kind of thing makes for good TV. Being provocative and passionate will get viewers. It also adds to the vitriol that people have been condemning in light of the shooting of Representative Giffords.

When it comes down to it, TV is about ratings, right? I believe MSNBC made a mistake here, in a purely financial sense. They will lose viewers. Sure, people will probably still watch Rachel Maddow, but she is pretty level-headed. In TV Land, that means boring.

Unless they can find someone equally or more liberal and loud, MSNBC will feel the loss. Though I am glad I don’t have to hear the number of days it’s been since Bush’s declaration of “Mission Accomplished” in Iraq. That is so last administration.


2 responses to “Fired? Really?

  • Terrance H.

    Spinny,

    I think it has something to do with Comcast Communications; they have, apparently purchased MSNBC from General Electric. I can’t be certain, but I think Comcast watchs to move the network in a different direction.

    I’d die laughing if Fox offered Olbermann a job, just like they did Imus, even after all the vitriol Imus said about them. And today, Imus is on the Fox Business Network. LOL.

    • SpinnyLiberal

      I heard about that. Of course, Comcast denies it. Who knows?

      FOX offering him a job. Hahaha. I think it would be hilarious if he took it. I say Olbermann sets up a fight between him and O’Reilly. 12 rounds, anything goes, on Pay Per View. He’ll be set for a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

